We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhh, secret spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Huahine

Save Saved
You added Royal Huahine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Huahine
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   BP 36 Fare, 98731, French Polynesia (Formerly Te Tiare Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Huahine
Newport Beach, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shhh, secret spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you are looking for some real peace, quiet and tranquilty I think this is the spot! You can't reach this place by car; boat only. It's secluded, quiet and qauint. I felt like I was out in the middle of the ocean. During the time we went some clouds were moving through and it added such great character to the ocean and sky espeically towards the end of the day as the sun set over Raiatai. Geri Miller from Tahiti Discount Travel in Newport Beach, once again, knows the right palce to be! As unreal and spectacular as some more well know islands or resorts are in Tahiti I would say Te Tiare Beach Resort on Huahine is just as good. It's a little different style and I loved it! Good accomodations and food and the service was great in a different sort of way, it was like we were locals. And their are plenty of fun activities right there at the resort but you can also do tours and surf. In fact the water taxi will take you right to one of three surf breaks very close by. There are two rights and a left and though Tahiti surf can be pretty hectic these breaks are a little more forgiving and very fun! So thanks again Geri!

Room Tip: Get to the deep water bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    78
    31
    17
    12
See reviews for
25
211
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place was amazing!!! Only accessible by boat, we arrived late due to a delayed flight, and were welcomed like family to the hotel. The rooms were really spacious and well appointed. Definitely worth spending the few extra $$ if you can to get the deep overwater bungalows. You can dive off your own platform into beautiful water with reef at your doorstep. The views are great and you get the sunset over the neighboring islands. If you can, go on a fishing charter with Petori. He was great. And the dive charter from there is great. The lovely lady that runs it absolutely loves her job and it shows as she gets super excited to take you and show you the best place on the day. The staff were all great and the meals were very filling!! Great door and heaps of it. And the little beach bar is great with a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This resort is definitely very peaceful and has a flare of it's own compared to the other resorts in other islands. It's a perfect location for surfing as well as for swimming and snorkeling. The resort staff are very friendly and always happy. Internet is not a fast connection so just remember to disconnect yourself from your ipad,iphone or laptop and just enjoy the peaceful and gorgeous sorrounding you are at! We stayed at room#33 deep ovewater room. The bungalows are a bit older in amenities but it is a very roomy deck and very comfortable layout. We love just ordering in for dinner and enjoy our dinner under the stars at the comfort of our overwater bungalow! Thank you to Geri Miller at Tahiti Discount Travel, Newport Beach who prepared the perfect itinerary for us to 3 different islands from Papeete, Huahine and save the best for last Bora Bora!

Room Tip: Get the deep overwater bungalow for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It doesn't take much to knock marks off a hotel where you expect quality, but in this case lots of factors lowered my opinion of this hotel, the main ones being poor food and the villa was in a tired state.

Transfers were smooth and quick (5min ride to Fare from airport by taxi, and then hotel shuttle which runs regularly anyway). We were allowed to keep the room until 4PM on day of departure. Other guests had an extravagant sending off, whilst we barely had a goodbye! The staff were otherwise very friendly.

On arrival our villa smelt stale, whilst the toilet released a smell of sewage. The villa does appear tired. The main door handle, shower head and rail were all broken (when reported the rail was fixed quickly). House keeping was not done on one day although they had called and informed us it would be done. I wouldn't say there is much difference between a beach and lagoon villa, the latter sitting in about 0.5m of water and mostly dead coral/rocks. The snorkelling is ok. Surroundings were beautiful, with lush vegetation on hills surrounding the hotel. Unfortunately no walking paths.

Do not expect a tranquil sleep. We were woken at 4:30AM each morning by the sounds of thousands of birds chirping. Then the noise of the hotel shuttle boat adds to this from around 5AM. There are also several homes locally, with one of them regularly playing music at full level from as early as 7AM. On one morning we had the added sounds of hammer and jigsaw.

I was disappointed to find that after paying for breakfast at time of booking, I would have to pay £15 a couple for a hot breakfast. However the breakfast on offer was so bad (worst I've had) that I decided not to have it on two out of five days. Juices were stagnant, with a fly floating in one, cereals were stale, breads were left uncovered and dry which were then pecked at by birds before being eaten by guests, yoghurts were left to warm in the heat, and fruits were not of good quality. Dinner did offer lovely hot fresh rolls, but two different fish dishes sampled were either dry or overcooked. No effort had been made to make sure drinks were not out of date - attention to detail that is missing in the kitchen.

To eat there are a handful of restaurants in Fare, the main town - it is very small, with no entertainment. The hotel had no entertainment and seemed virtually empty. Don't turn to the TV for distraction - only one English channel and it played 2012 Doomsday on repeat day and night for the entire duration of our stay (five days).

Transport from the hotel to Fare is every 1-2 hours, although it seems to vary, with one occasion where we roasted in the sun for 25mins before it turned up (no apology).

Overall, what is really disappointing is you are paying for a slice of heaven at a five star resort. There should be no major deficiencies but there are far too many. My opinion is if this is the best on Huahine and is supposed to be an alternative to Bora Bora, then either pay more and go to Bora Bora, or go to Moorea and stay at one of its equivalent hotel resorts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent a few nights at the Te Tiare Beach Resort and I don't have anything to complain about, everything was perfect… BUT as I was on my own and the place is full of couples on their honeymoon, I felt like this was not really the good place for me! It was not such a fun to have diner alone amongst all these perfect couples which looked in eyes :-)
The hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Huahine in between stays on Moorea and Bora Bora. Huahine is a quiet island, away from the main action, but also much More affordable. We had a deep overwater room. The hotel was only one-third full, which is a shame, as the people were very friendly. Vatea was great, always friendly and willing to help.

Overall the resort needs a bit of a facelift, as it is 13 years old, but we would recommend it highly. We also recommend the island Eco tour with Paul Atallah.

Room Tip: The deepwater rooms allow you to snorkel right off your back deck. You will see plenty of fish, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking for simplicity with quality and were not disappointed...the overwater bungalows were amazing and the staff to match....stayed 5 nights Oct 7-12th - would go back in a minute. We enjoyed it all - the transfers were all most efficient and the boat ride to the resort was a welcome part of the day...always nice to spend a relaxing time on the water. Arriving early was not a problem, we were allowed to move into an adjoining bungalow until ours was ready then allowed to stay late for our departing flight - couldn't ask for more. Wonderful choice for anyone looking for some good solid rest and time to restore.

Room Tip: deep overwater bungalows were superior - pick up snacks in town and keep in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Huahine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Huahine

Address: BP 36 Fare, 98731, French Polynesia (Formerly Te Tiare Beach Resort)
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Huahine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Huahine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Huahine 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Huahine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Tiare Beach Hotel Huahine
Te Tiare Beach Huahine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Huahine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.