We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Huahine

Save Saved
You added Royal Huahine to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Huahine
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   BP 36 Fare, 98731, French Polynesia (Formerly Te Tiare Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Huahine
Irvine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This resort is definitely very peaceful and has a flare of it's own compared to the other resorts in other islands. It's a perfect location for surfing as well as for swimming and snorkeling. The resort staff are very friendly and always happy. Internet is not a fast connection so just remember to disconnect yourself from your ipad,iphone or laptop and just enjoy the peaceful and gorgeous sorrounding you are at! We stayed at room#33 deep ovewater room. The bungalows are a bit older in amenities but it is a very roomy deck and very comfortable layout. We love just ordering in for dinner and enjoy our dinner under the stars at the comfort of our overwater bungalow! Thank you to Geri Miller at Tahiti Discount Travel, Newport Beach who prepared the perfect itinerary for us to 3 different islands from Papeete, Huahine and save the best for last Bora Bora!

Room Tip: Get the deep overwater bungalow for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    79
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
25
213
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It doesn't take much to knock marks off a hotel where you expect quality, but in this case lots of factors lowered my opinion of this hotel, the main ones being poor food and the villa was in a tired state.

Transfers were smooth and quick (5min ride to Fare from airport by taxi, and then hotel shuttle which runs regularly anyway). We were allowed to keep the room until 4PM on day of departure. Other guests had an extravagant sending off, whilst we barely had a goodbye! The staff were otherwise very friendly.

On arrival our villa smelt stale, whilst the toilet released a smell of sewage. The villa does appear tired. The main door handle, shower head and rail were all broken (when reported the rail was fixed quickly). House keeping was not done on one day although they had called and informed us it would be done. I wouldn't say there is much difference between a beach and lagoon villa, the latter sitting in about 0.5m of water and mostly dead coral/rocks. The snorkelling is ok. Surroundings were beautiful, with lush vegetation on hills surrounding the hotel. Unfortunately no walking paths.

Do not expect a tranquil sleep. We were woken at 4:30AM each morning by the sounds of thousands of birds chirping. Then the noise of the hotel shuttle boat adds to this from around 5AM. There are also several homes locally, with one of them regularly playing music at full level from as early as 7AM. On one morning we had the added sounds of hammer and jigsaw.

I was disappointed to find that after paying for breakfast at time of booking, I would have to pay £15 a couple for a hot breakfast. However the breakfast on offer was so bad (worst I've had) that I decided not to have it on two out of five days. Juices were stagnant, with a fly floating in one, cereals were stale, breads were left uncovered and dry which were then pecked at by birds before being eaten by guests, yoghurts were left to warm in the heat, and fruits were not of good quality. Dinner did offer lovely hot fresh rolls, but two different fish dishes sampled were either dry or overcooked. No effort had been made to make sure drinks were not out of date - attention to detail that is missing in the kitchen.

To eat there are a handful of restaurants in Fare, the main town - it is very small, with no entertainment. The hotel had no entertainment and seemed virtually empty. Don't turn to the TV for distraction - only one English channel and it played 2012 Doomsday on repeat day and night for the entire duration of our stay (five days).

Transport from the hotel to Fare is every 1-2 hours, although it seems to vary, with one occasion where we roasted in the sun for 25mins before it turned up (no apology).

Overall, what is really disappointing is you are paying for a slice of heaven at a five star resort. There should be no major deficiencies but there are far too many. My opinion is if this is the best on Huahine and is supposed to be an alternative to Bora Bora, then either pay more and go to Bora Bora, or go to Moorea and stay at one of its equivalent hotel resorts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent a few nights at the Te Tiare Beach Resort and I don't have anything to complain about, everything was perfect… BUT as I was on my own and the place is full of couples on their honeymoon, I felt like this was not really the good place for me! It was not such a fun to have diner alone amongst all these perfect couples which looked in eyes :-)
The hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Huahine in between stays on Moorea and Bora Bora. Huahine is a quiet island, away from the main action, but also much More affordable. We had a deep overwater room. The hotel was only one-third full, which is a shame, as the people were very friendly. Vatea was great, always friendly and willing to help.

Overall the resort needs a bit of a facelift, as it is 13 years old, but we would recommend it highly. We also recommend the island Eco tour with Paul Atallah.

Room Tip: The deepwater rooms allow you to snorkel right off your back deck. You will see plenty of fish, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking for simplicity with quality and were not disappointed...the overwater bungalows were amazing and the staff to match....stayed 5 nights Oct 7-12th - would go back in a minute. We enjoyed it all - the transfers were all most efficient and the boat ride to the resort was a welcome part of the day...always nice to spend a relaxing time on the water. Arriving early was not a problem, we were allowed to move into an adjoining bungalow until ours was ready then allowed to stay late for our departing flight - couldn't ask for more. Wonderful choice for anyone looking for some good solid rest and time to restore.

Room Tip: deep overwater bungalows were superior - pick up snacks in town and keep in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel between 14th & 17th October. We arrived by yacht having sailed around the Society Islands for a week. In fact we arrived a day early and announced our presence to Vatea who could not have been more helpful, allowed us to use the hotel mooring ball and then arranged for our over water bungalow to be prepared first thing the next morning when our crewed yacht left us. We were immediately impressed with the friendliness of the Polynesian staff and indeed all of the people of Huahine. This was in contrast to the rest of the Society Islands where the community were predominantly European and every beach seems to be private and protected by guard dogs and in one case a man brandishing a machete ! Te Tiare can only be accessed by boat which is a blessing to all those seeking a remote Polynesian location. Having read some past reviews we were a little concerned that the hotel would appear dated and in need of a refurb. We were most pleasantly surprised. Our room, the hotel in general and the grounds were in superb condition - having lived in the tropics for 4 years we know what an achievement this represents. The pool was also great. Lets put it this way. We stayed a the Waldorf Astoria in New York in August and the condition of that hotel was vastly inferior to Te Tiare. The food was also impressive, although we found the wine selection somewhat limited (albeit those wines that were available were reasonably priced). Our over water bungalow was situated right over a live and vibrant coral reef with nearby drop off. Again in stark contrast to the rest of the Society islands where almost all of the coral we came across was dead. The gift shop was closed however imediately opened when we expressed an interest at the front desk. We took the Motu Picnic extersion. A great 7 hour boat trip round the island that included drift snorkelling (some of it while feeding the resident population of black tip sharks !). We were allowed to keep our room right until our departure time of 3.30 PM. We gained a consistent impression of a highly efficiently run hotel: all of the staff were on the ball and tried their very best to accommodate us. We considered our stay very good value. Lets be clear Huahine is a remote Polynesian Island holding true to its Polynesian origins. We are well travelled and would put the island on a par with Mayreau in the Grenadines. Te Tiare with its 41 rooms is the biggest hotel on the island. If you're looking for packaged tourism go to Bora Bora. It took us 36 hours to travel to French Polynesia from the UK. We consider Te Tiare worth a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We believe Te Tiare is one of the best values among the over water beach resorts in the Society Islands. Our experience there was excellent from beginning to end. The hotel arranges for your transportation from the airport to their own boat terminal in the town of Fare. From there you take the hotel boat to the resort. The boat trip is within the lagoon's protected waters and takes at most 20 minutes.

Te Tiare is located in a beautiful cove surrounded by high hills and tropical forest. There are no roads to the resort, so the sense of having your own private island destination is complete. Unlike Bora Bora, which seemed overbuilt, it is Huahine's only over water beach resort.

We stayed in the over water bungalows furtherest toward the ocean. The room was quite spacious and very nice. Each has direct access to the ocean for swimming or snorkeling.
At night you could hear the surf booming on the reef surrounding the island.

In all instances, the service and management of Te Tiare was excellent. Arrival and check in was painless as was our departure. We found the restaurant to be excellent. There was a very nice beach, kayaks and canoes free for guest use, a small but beautiful freshwater pool, and the grounds of the resort were beautifully maintained.

If your aim is to find a very quiet tropical retreat from a busy world, this is a good choice. If you need to be entertained, the hotel has a weekly polynesian dance show, but that's it, so you should plan on trying some of the activities like snorkel tours, fishing, or island tours.

Room Tip: Any of the over water bungalows should be great. Some of the garden bungalows nearest the beach wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Huahine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Huahine

Address: BP 36 Fare, 98731, French Polynesia (Formerly Te Tiare Beach Resort)
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Huahine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Huahine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Huahine 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Huahine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Tiare Beach Hotel Huahine
Te Tiare Beach Huahine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Huahine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;