We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms, great dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raiatea Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Raiatea Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raiatea Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 680 | TUMARAA PK 9,5, 98735, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Raiatea
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, great rooms, great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We only spent 1 night at the Lodge, but whished we had spent more.
The hotel has a very personal charme and is very clean and nicely decorated.
We arrived late and immediately proceeded to the dinner à la carte which was simply amazing! Big portions and very fresh and tasty.
Compared to similar locations in and around FP this is certainly one with a very good price/service ratio.
The view from the rooms is amazing. Facing the front garden and the ocean you wake up with a real Tahiti feeling.
Very big and comfy beds and in general very generous rooms round up a very short but very positive experience for us. We would definitely come back if we were to visit FP again.

One remark: This is not a beach location but directly across the street is a neet access to a cool snorkeling location over a wooden private boat dock.

More pictures under: http://30feethigh.tumblr.com/post/38430605478/lodgehotelgeraiatea

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    49
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
235
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I spent 10 glorious days at the beautiful Raiatea Lodge in October this year. The team, Olivier, Carine, Laurent, Rainu and Nadia made us feel so welcome with their friendliness, helpfulness and charming manner. We opted for the half board, breakfast and dinner, however most days we also ate lunch at the Lodge after a lazy morning around the pool. The menu for all meals was excellent and the food devine. Fresh, imaginative and plentiful. Our room in this charming colonial style building was beautifully presented and we had a lovely verandah which looked down across the expansive lawn and out to the sea beyond. The sunsets from our verandah or the downstairs lounge and bar area, were stunning. Everything about Raiatea Lodge went way beyond our expectations. Sharoni and Michel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for a week with a group of friends and family. Simply fantastic. The rooms are lovely with great view on the lagoon, the food is perfect - try the homemade vanilla yogurts in the morning, but what sets this hotel apart is the team there: Olivier, Carine, Laurent, Nadia and Rainiu make this place a true gem in Polynesia. Thank you for an unforgettable week.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Olivier, Karin and Rainui welcomed us after our two weeks of sailing. All of the staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and gave superior service. We did not choose the half-board (only breakfast)....but they would have allowed us to do so had we wanted to....they were very exceptional. We recieved the same cold beverage/cold towel welcome mentioned in other reviews and the "orientation" to the property was excellent. We took advantage of the quick/painless car rental process with Olivier - with the car located right at the property. The breakfast were simple yet substantial....and our one evening meal was excellent. We only stayed 2 nights .....but as others have said, longer would have been better. Would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to Raiatea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights before our sailboat charter. The lodge is lovely, very clean and the food excellent. We had chosen the half-board and were very pleased. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They are very close to the airport and the marina and they provided transport from the airport and to the marina after our stay. They exceeded our expectations. We would not think of staying anywhere else when we return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It was really hot and sticky when we got back from 2 weeks on a rented catamaran, and we were hot and tired. Staff from the lodge picked us up at the boat dock and immediately transported us to a lovely facility, greeting us with cold drinks and cold, wet towels. They worked overtime to do everything they could to make our stay pleasant--bicycles, GREAT food, a lovely pool, help with taxis and shopping--a WONDERFUL vacation experience in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Make sure that you let them know ahead of time if you have special requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We needed a couple of night’s accommodation before beginning our sailing charter and asked our yacht charter company to make a few suggestions. The Raiatea Lodge had the best Trip Advisor reviews, so I contacted them. The price was more expensive than I expected; they wanted us to take their half-board package (breakfast and dinner) and airport transfers in addition to the accommodation. The cost was getting beyond what we were comfortable with. Was this going to be one of those places that takes advantage because there aren’t many other options?
No, they are not. Right from the airport pick-up, we were made to feel not only welcome, but special. When we got to the hotel, Laurent, who I had been corresponding with, greeted us like friends and we were served a drink in the elegant open-air lobby while he personally explained the hotel workings. He showed us to our room which was really lovely...there are only 15 or 16 rooms and they all have balconies facing the garden, pool and lagoon. Snorkel equipment, kayaks and bikes are included. Snorkeling is really good off the hotel dock, there's a nearby motu to kayak to and Uturoa is an easy bike ride away. We did it all. The food was fantastic...really fantastic... and all the staff were terrific. We were sorry we hadn’t booked another day or two. It was worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raiatea Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raiatea Lodge Hotel

Address: BP 680 | TUMARAA PK 9,5, 98735, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Raiatea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Raiatea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raiatea Lodge Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel of 15 rooms, located on the coast West of Raiatea, enjoys a privileged location on a property of one hectare, facing the " islet" Miri Miri and the island of Bora Bora.Its colonial architecture and teak wood furniture as well as the refined decoration reveal an atmosphere of quitness and wellbeing.All air-conditioned, spacious and comfortable rooms have all a private terrace, overlooking the park as well as on the lagoon.Common areas provide direct access to the swimming poolThe restaurant offers French and International cuisines, both using local vegetables and fruits for new refined flavors.Raiatea Lodge is the perfect place from which the exploration of the sister islands of Tahaa and Raiatea is made easier... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Raiatea Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raiatea Hotel Raiatea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raiatea Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.