We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with your favorite family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raiatea Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Raiatea Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Raiatea Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 680 | TUMARAA PK 9,5, 98735, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Raiatea
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Like staying with your favorite family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Olivier, Karin and Rainui welcomed us after our two weeks of sailing. All of the staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and gave superior service. We did not choose the half-board (only breakfast)....but they would have allowed us to do so had we wanted to....they were very exceptional. We recieved the same cold beverage/cold towel welcome mentioned in other reviews and the "orientation" to the property was excellent. We took advantage of the quick/painless car rental process with Olivier - with the car located right at the property. The breakfast were simple yet substantial....and our one evening meal was excellent. We only stayed 2 nights .....but as others have said, longer would have been better. Would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to Raiatea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    64
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
266
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights before our sailboat charter. The lodge is lovely, very clean and the food excellent. We had chosen the half-board and were very pleased. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They are very close to the airport and the marina and they provided transport from the airport and to the marina after our stay. They exceeded our expectations. We would not think of staying anywhere else when we return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It was really hot and sticky when we got back from 2 weeks on a rented catamaran, and we were hot and tired. Staff from the lodge picked us up at the boat dock and immediately transported us to a lovely facility, greeting us with cold drinks and cold, wet towels. They worked overtime to do everything they could to make our stay pleasant--bicycles, GREAT food, a lovely pool, help with taxis and shopping--a WONDERFUL vacation experience in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Make sure that you let them know ahead of time if you have special requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We needed a couple of night’s accommodation before beginning our sailing charter and asked our yacht charter company to make a few suggestions. The Raiatea Lodge had the best Trip Advisor reviews, so I contacted them. The price was more expensive than I expected; they wanted us to take their half-board package (breakfast and dinner) and airport transfers in addition to the accommodation. The cost was getting beyond what we were comfortable with. Was this going to be one of those places that takes advantage because there aren’t many other options?
No, they are not. Right from the airport pick-up, we were made to feel not only welcome, but special. When we got to the hotel, Laurent, who I had been corresponding with, greeted us like friends and we were served a drink in the elegant open-air lobby while he personally explained the hotel workings. He showed us to our room which was really lovely...there are only 15 or 16 rooms and they all have balconies facing the garden, pool and lagoon. Snorkel equipment, kayaks and bikes are included. Snorkeling is really good off the hotel dock, there's a nearby motu to kayak to and Uturoa is an easy bike ride away. We did it all. The food was fantastic...really fantastic... and all the staff were terrific. We were sorry we hadn’t booked another day or two. It was worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Bora Bora and really loved it. The hotel is in a colonial style building. The rooms are on the first floor and have a balcony looking out over the garden and the sea, with Bora Bora in the distance. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful and the food at the little restaurant area downstairs was great. This is not somewhere you go for resort style activities, although you can get kayaks and go snorkling in the lagoon. This is a place to go and relax. It's also really well priced when you compare it to other places in French Polynesia. The swimming pool is not large, but is pleasant and is surrounded by a grass area with an assortment of chairs to lounge in. However, the best place to swim is off the end of the small wharf across the road.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, all rooms look out over the garden, so any room should be fine. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huahine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Karin and Olivier run the happiest hotel we have ever been to. Rai Nui and Nadia, their right and left hands are the most kind people you can imagine. They are helpful and sweet. The hotel is thought on every little detail and the food is great. I couldn't make a better recomendation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We started off our trip with 3 nights at Moorea Pearl resort in Moorea. We then came to Raiatea Lodge. The rooms and grounds are not up to par with Moorea Pearl but the accomodations are excellent. The reason we came to Raiatea was to get away and have some peace and quiet and that is exactly what we did. The rooms are very clean and lots of storage. The grounds are beautiful. I did not realize till I got there that there is a public road in front of the Lodge but it up quite a ways and you do not hear traffic noise. The traffic goes by very slow so there is no danger in crossing the street.
The food is amazing at the Lodge. Our package included Breakfast and dinner. However, we ate several lunches there as well. All the food was exceptional, especially the dinners. There was not one bad meal at the lodge.
We did alot of tours and activites there and they were all excellent. We did the boat toar of Tahaa with Julien. We did the vehicle tour of Raiatea with Christian from Trucky Tours. We also did the kayak tour of the river with Juliene.
The snorkeling out in front of the resort is amazing and practically is the best snorkeling we have ever seen. The coral reefs are in such good condition and the fish are bountiful.
The owners, Oliver and karen, are very laid back and are there to make you comfortable. I will say that there are not many English speaking people at this resort, so just be prepared if you go. The owners do speak English very well as well as the tour guides. Most of the resort is French. Nadia is an excellent server!
The resort is very quiet at night and everyone is in bed by 9-9:30pm. I would definietly come back to this little slice of heaven!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raiatea Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raiatea Lodge Hotel

Address: BP 680 | TUMARAA PK 9,5, 98735, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Raiatea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Raiatea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raiatea Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel of 15 rooms, located on the coast West of Raiatea, enjoys a privileged location on a property of one hectare, facing the " islet" Miri Miri and the island of Bora Bora.Its colonial architecture and teak wood furniture as well as the refined decoration reveal an atmosphere of quitness and wellbeing.All air-conditioned, spacious and comfortable rooms have all a private terrace, overlooking the park as well as on the lagoon.Common areas provide direct access to the swimming poolThe restaurant offers French and International cuisines, both using local vegetables and fruits for new refined flavors.Raiatea Lodge is the perfect place from which the exploration of the sister islands of Tahaa and Raiatea is made easier... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Raiatea Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raiatea Hotel Raiatea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raiatea Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.