We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raiatea Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Raiatea Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raiatea Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 680 | TUMARAA PK 9,5, 98735, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Raiatea
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Bora Bora and really loved it. The hotel is in a colonial style building. The rooms are on the first floor and have a balcony looking out over the garden and the sea, with Bora Bora in the distance. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful and the food at the little restaurant area downstairs was great. This is not somewhere you go for resort style activities, although you can get kayaks and go snorkling in the lagoon. This is a place to go and relax. It's also really well priced when you compare it to other places in French Polynesia. The swimming pool is not large, but is pleasant and is surrounded by a grass area with an assortment of chairs to lounge in. However, the best place to swim is off the end of the small wharf across the road.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, all rooms look out over the garden, so any room should be fine. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    60
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
252
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huahine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Karin and Olivier run the happiest hotel we have ever been to. Rai Nui and Nadia, their right and left hands are the most kind people you can imagine. They are helpful and sweet. The hotel is thought on every little detail and the food is great. I couldn't make a better recomendation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We started off our trip with 3 nights at Moorea Pearl resort in Moorea. We then came to Raiatea Lodge. The rooms and grounds are not up to par with Moorea Pearl but the accomodations are excellent. The reason we came to Raiatea was to get away and have some peace and quiet and that is exactly what we did. The rooms are very clean and lots of storage. The grounds are beautiful. I did not realize till I got there that there is a public road in front of the Lodge but it up quite a ways and you do not hear traffic noise. The traffic goes by very slow so there is no danger in crossing the street.
The food is amazing at the Lodge. Our package included Breakfast and dinner. However, we ate several lunches there as well. All the food was exceptional, especially the dinners. There was not one bad meal at the lodge.
We did alot of tours and activites there and they were all excellent. We did the boat toar of Tahaa with Julien. We did the vehicle tour of Raiatea with Christian from Trucky Tours. We also did the kayak tour of the river with Juliene.
The snorkeling out in front of the resort is amazing and practically is the best snorkeling we have ever seen. The coral reefs are in such good condition and the fish are bountiful.
The owners, Oliver and karen, are very laid back and are there to make you comfortable. I will say that there are not many English speaking people at this resort, so just be prepared if you go. The owners do speak English very well as well as the tour guides. Most of the resort is French. Nadia is an excellent server!
The resort is very quiet at night and everyone is in bed by 9-9:30pm. I would definietly come back to this little slice of heaven!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have to start out by saying that maybe I had higher expectations of this place before we arrived. I researched all of our hotels quite extensively, so I really thought that we were going to receive stellar service at this hotel.

The rooms were clean and pretty comfortable. The person that we interacted with seemed to have a bit of an attitude. I didn't catch his name, but he certainly took away from our experience. I believe he was running the place. A couple of things went wrong. The water was out for hours, and then the next day there was no electricity for hours. I got some type of stomach virus, so this was particularly uncomfortable for me. I'm pretty sure the water was off because they were doing construction work on the property during one day.

We had brought a small iPod player with us to listen to some jazz and reggae by the pool. The music wasn't loud by any means, and we only had it on for a little over an hour. The guy that I'm referring to earlier in this post, came over and asked us to shut it off. He said this is a "quiet place" and he couldn't allow us to play our music. We quickly turned it off. The following day (while I was in bed all day), there was an enormous amount of work going on at the hotel. It sounded like there were drills and hammers and chainsaws. It appeared that they were working on the pool bar. There was also yard work being done. It went on all day. I wouldn't have thought twice about it, except for the fact that the day before we were asked to shut off our music, because this was a "quiet place." Construction work hardly constitutes a "quiet place" in my book. I was disappointed, to say the least.

The positives were Nadia and the food. Nadia was a true gem. Always smiling and wanting to please us. She came up to check on me in the room, when our travel mates advised that I was very sick. She was the highlight of our stay here. The food was also very good. Probably some of the best during our entire trip. Don't miss the vanilla yogurt for breakfast and the fish sandwich at lunch. Terrific!

We enjoyed using the kayaks and the fish at the end of the dock were very colorful and plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My friends and I arrived in Raiatea for a couple of days and due to a problem with the sailboat were delayed in our departure by more than a week. The owner of the Hotel - Oliver - helped us with anything and everything, made us feel at home and was friendlier than anyone could imagine. Food was great, service great, accomodations clean. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during the month of May. The owner is incredibly helpful, and right when we arrived he sat us down and explained the details of the hotel and activities we could do. The hotel has an old plantation style, the rooms are great, all with views and have nice and strong working ac.

There is no beach at the hotel, but there is a pier that goes out where you can swim in deep water and enjoy great snorkeling. The hotel offers free to use kayaks and one day we enjoyed kayaking out to a nearby uninhabited motu (small island) where we could enjoy that Robinson Crusoe experience. The hotel also has free bikes, and we enjoyed biking around during sunset.

The food, was fantastic, the best we had in french polynesia, and I would strongly recommend going half board.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, for its great location, ambience, and above all price. For what we paid, this place is a steal for French Polynesia.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was the 6th hotel on our 3.5wk hineymoon. Nice small hotel, great restaurant. Did eat here every day, also because it's located away from anything else. Owners are very friendly, cater to whatever you want.

Took the bikes one day, went into town (all closed on Sunday), but found one store open, so bought some snacks and beer for in hotel room. Balcony is overlooking the garden and sea. Great relaxing, good pool. Rooms are small, just a bed & bathroom. Flowers everyday.

We did the Tahaa lagoon tour, booked through hotel. It's like l'excursion blue, but we used Vai Poe Tours. Same like Aberts tour in Moorea everything was pretty standard, but due to a much smaller boat (and thus 15 instead of 50 ppl) much more relaxed and fun. Highly recommended.

We also took a kayak at the hotel and peddled to a motu across the hotel (15 minutes). Spent the entire day there reading and relaxing at the beach. Watch out for those falling coconuts though!

Stayed 4 days, but as Raiatea isn't that big 3 days would also have been enough for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raiatea Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raiatea Lodge Hotel

Address: BP 680 | TUMARAA PK 9,5, 98735, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Raiatea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Raiatea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raiatea Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel of 15 rooms, located on the coast West of Raiatea, enjoys a privileged location on a property of one hectare, facing the " islet" Miri Miri and the island of Bora Bora.Its colonial architecture and teak wood furniture as well as the refined decoration reveal an atmosphere of quitness and wellbeing.All air-conditioned, spacious and comfortable rooms have all a private terrace, overlooking the park as well as on the lagoon.Common areas provide direct access to the swimming poolThe restaurant offers French and International cuisines, both using local vegetables and fruits for new refined flavors.Raiatea Lodge is the perfect place from which the exploration of the sister islands of Tahaa and Raiatea is made easier... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Raiatea Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raiatea Hotel Raiatea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raiatea Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.