We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like our own slice of paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fare Arana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fare Arana to your Saves list
Fare Arana
B.P. 610 de Maharepa | ATIHA - HAAPITI, 98729, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Moorea B&B and Inns
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Felt like our own slice of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for six nights with Fabienne and her son, Baptiste. And the two dogs and several cats! We had a cute cabin, overlooking the sea and gardens, which was small but more than adequate, with a few French touches (eg distressed paintwork). There was a tiny kitchen (a bit too tiny really), a small living room, and a good sized shower room downstairs, and one large open plan bedroom upstairs with two double beds and a single, under the steeply sloping roof. There was air-conditioning upstairs, but all the cool air fell downstairs, so the lounge was cool but not the bedroom... Outside was a large terrace, partly covered, with table and chairs, and sun loungers. We seemed to be the only guests, so it all felt very private and secluded, but if it was busy, the cabins are very close to each other.

The pool area was a couple of minutes' walk through the lush gardens, and was lovely - a good-sized pool surrounded by decking and loungers, with a couple of shaded seating areas too. There was free wifi in the pool area, good enough for checking emails. We spent time in the pool every day, but also went out and explored the island (I think you'd need a car to stay here and make the most of the island).

Fabienne could not have been friendlier, and welcomed all of us, especially our daughter, who made friends with all the animals. Baptiste prepared some uru/breadfruit for us to try (sort of like baked potato), and opened a coconut so we could drink the water and eat the flesh. Impressive use of a machete! Fabienne also did laundry for us, at no charge, which was very kind.

Our stay cost 116 Euros per night, a bargain for Mo'orea and French Polynesia in general for this type of accommodation. And there were some lovely sunsets thrown in. We had a really lovely time, but appreciate that as we were the only guests, we possibly had a better experience than we might otherwise have had.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
27
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northleach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I had a pretty cottage with sitting room, dining terrace and bathroom downstairs and spacious bedroom above, with additional double and single bed. Small, but adequate kitchen. Sun loungers on cottage terrace as well as at pool. Pool is a bonus (beaches nearby are not good for swimming), but property loses the sun about 4pm. Need a car if you want to see the island's sights - there is nothing much nearby. Wifi at pool, but not in cottages.
Fabienne was incredibly helpful and does everything possible to make your stay enjoyable - she even dropped me off at the ferry when I left.
Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Loved Fare Arana, Fabienne was fantastic. Perfect host. She even did our laundry and and returned it to us dried and folded. Pool was great and her son and daughter were brilliant being the perfect example to their mother working away for the family business.
Recommended to anyone wanting to stay in Mo'orea.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Fare Arana on Moorea for the final four nights of our honeymoon in French Polynesia.

When we arrived at Fare Arana, we had just got back on a flight from the Tuamoutu Islands, a hot ferry across from Papeete and a drive around the island in our rental car - so we were very tired! We were delighted when we arrived at Fare Arana and saw our two-storey bungalow - VERY clean, tastefully decorated with air conditioning! The ground floor had an adorable little kitchen, the living room with dining table, couch and TV, and the bathroom. The upstairs level had the very spacious bedroom, with additional couches and beds. The whole place was decorated in what I would call a cross between South Pacific and French country home - it was wonderful!

The host of the property and his wife are very friendly and gracious - they made every effort to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. The property also has a lovely pool in a tropical garden area, table-tennis, ample parking, fruit trees across the property and amazing views of the Moorea lagoon!

  • Liked — The cleanliness, the tasteful decor and relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — My tiniest complaint was that the water pressure in the bathroom was quite weak - but hardly an issue!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

If you are looking for something different on Moorea, Fare Arana is worth considering. My husband, son age 4 at the time and I all loved it here. We split our time half here and half at an OWB at the Sheraton Moorea, and both were great experiences and a neat way to combo a vacation without more air travel.

We were able to discover new beaches and restaurants each day via rental car. The pool was a nice bonus, views superb, and the bungalow itself was great including TV and AC and full kitchen. Beds comfy, shower fine, linens clean. Bring travel size soap and shampoo (things one may be used to in regular hotels). Having a kitchen was nice for breakfasts and snacks (Champion supermarket has amazing French cheese!). We ordered from "The Chicken Man" one evening for dinner at
"home" which was awesome. Plenty of private outdoor space to hang out and enjoy the view. Easy to have them organize excursions for you if you want, many to choose from.

It is not a resort (ie you will not be waited on hand and foot) but the overall ambiance is warm and inviting and kind, and if you are pretty self sufficient you'll love it.

There were some other guests there (very nice people, happy memories of conversations) but really it was quiet and there was interaction if
you wanted it but mostly it was private.

I stumbled upon this place randomly, and e-mailed them directly, and the whole process was smooth (wire transfer as no credit cards accepted - I was a bit concerned but all was A-OK).

Overall I really loved this place and it holds a special memory of being the first place I saw a double rainbow following a warm tropical rain.

  • Liked — The View, kitchen, pool, The View!
  • Disliked — Not directly on the water, but there was sand there which was nice
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

A Slice of heaven!
Patrice and Natalie offer the many years of experience in the hosting industry,

They came from Provence to find an even better idea of paradise on moorea.

The property is located on Atiha bay on the south west side of the island near the 2 great surf spots of Atiha pass and haapiti pass. ( the other great surf sopt is by Temae point near the Sofitel)

The propery has seen an incredible transformation from the day The fare Arana opened. thatched roofs on the 3 houses, Air conditionning, Building of Fare Pote (tahitian Hospitality huts with Hammocks and chairs by the Pool (not chlorinated) on the "Beach in the sky".

In Season, the bay harbors at night some humpback whales. This is quite an incredible sound to hear the whale sing in the middle of the night.

Cost per house (that sleeps up to 4 guest) comes about $ 145 USD per House.

Best value for a family gathering or for returning visitors to paradise.

A car rental is a Must, Fare Arana can offer some creative formulas for stay and drive

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moorea hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#3 of 3 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
7.3 mi away
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#3 of 3 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
InterContinental Resort & Spa Moorea
1.2 mi away
Linareva Moorea Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Moorea Surf Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fare Arana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Arana

Address: B.P. 610 de Maharepa | ATIHA - HAAPITI, 98729, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Moorea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fare Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fare Arana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.