We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fare Arana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fare Arana to your Saves list
Fare Arana
B.P. 610 de Maharepa | ATIHA - HAAPITI, 98729, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Moorea B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Homely Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Loved Fare Arana, Fabienne was fantastic. Perfect host. She even did our laundry and and returned it to us dried and folded. Pool was great and her son and daughter were brilliant being the perfect example to their mother working away for the family business.
Recommended to anyone wanting to stay in Mo'orea.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
24
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Fare Arana on Moorea for the final four nights of our honeymoon in French Polynesia.

When we arrived at Fare Arana, we had just got back on a flight from the Tuamoutu Islands, a hot ferry across from Papeete and a drive around the island in our rental car - so we were very tired! We were delighted when we arrived at Fare Arana and saw our two-storey bungalow - VERY clean, tastefully decorated with air conditioning! The ground floor had an adorable little kitchen, the living room with dining table, couch and TV, and the bathroom. The upstairs level had the very spacious bedroom, with additional couches and beds. The whole place was decorated in what I would call a cross between South Pacific and French country home - it was wonderful!

The host of the property and his wife are very friendly and gracious - they made every effort to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. The property also has a lovely pool in a tropical garden area, table-tennis, ample parking, fruit trees across the property and amazing views of the Moorea lagoon!

  • Liked — The cleanliness, the tasteful decor and relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — My tiniest complaint was that the water pressure in the bathroom was quite weak - but hardly an issue!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

If you are looking for something different on Moorea, Fare Arana is worth considering. My husband, son age 4 at the time and I all loved it here. We split our time half here and half at an OWB at the Sheraton Moorea, and both were great experiences and a neat way to combo a vacation without more air travel.

We were able to discover new beaches and restaurants each day via rental car. The pool was a nice bonus, views superb, and the bungalow itself was great including TV and AC and full kitchen. Beds comfy, shower fine, linens clean. Bring travel size soap and shampoo (things one may be used to in regular hotels). Having a kitchen was nice for breakfasts and snacks (Champion supermarket has amazing French cheese!). We ordered from "The Chicken Man" one evening for dinner at
"home" which was awesome. Plenty of private outdoor space to hang out and enjoy the view. Easy to have them organize excursions for you if you want, many to choose from.

It is not a resort (ie you will not be waited on hand and foot) but the overall ambiance is warm and inviting and kind, and if you are pretty self sufficient you'll love it.

There were some other guests there (very nice people, happy memories of conversations) but really it was quiet and there was interaction if
you wanted it but mostly it was private.

I stumbled upon this place randomly, and e-mailed them directly, and the whole process was smooth (wire transfer as no credit cards accepted - I was a bit concerned but all was A-OK).

Overall I really loved this place and it holds a special memory of being the first place I saw a double rainbow following a warm tropical rain.

  • Liked — The View, kitchen, pool, The View!
  • Disliked — Not directly on the water, but there was sand there which was nice
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

A Slice of heaven!
Patrice and Natalie offer the many years of experience in the hosting industry,

They came from Provence to find an even better idea of paradise on moorea.

The property is located on Atiha bay on the south west side of the island near the 2 great surf spots of Atiha pass and haapiti pass. ( the other great surf sopt is by Temae point near the Sofitel)

The propery has seen an incredible transformation from the day The fare Arana opened. thatched roofs on the 3 houses, Air conditionning, Building of Fare Pote (tahitian Hospitality huts with Hammocks and chairs by the Pool (not chlorinated) on the "Beach in the sky".

In Season, the bay harbors at night some humpback whales. This is quite an incredible sound to hear the whale sing in the middle of the night.

Cost per house (that sleeps up to 4 guest) comes about $ 145 USD per House.

Best value for a family gathering or for returning visitors to paradise.

A car rental is a Must, Fare Arana can offer some creative formulas for stay and drive

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fare Arana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Arana

Address: B.P. 610 de Maharepa | ATIHA - HAAPITI, 98729, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Moorea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fare Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fare Arana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.