We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fare Vaihere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fare Vaihere to your Saves list
Fare Vaihere
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Baie d'Opunohu | Papetoai, 98729, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Moorea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not happy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We were supposed to stay here for 2 nights and were looking forward to it after reading all the reviews . However our flight got cancelled and we had to stay in LA for two nights till we could get on next flight . As a consequence we cancelled 3 days prior to our booking . The owners were not empathetic and charged us the full two nights accommodation.

We were very unhappy about this and they said they have a 15 day cancellation policy so be wary of this . We come to Tahiti often and will unfortunately never experience what other trip advisors say about this place as they have left a bad taste in our mouths .

Not happy :(

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farevaihere, Propriétaire at Fare Vaihere, responded to this review, January 18, 2015
Ia orana Silvana 28,

I’ m sorry to have to bother all the travelers that will read the review you left and I hope, will read this answer. But I can not let you write everything and anything about the bad experience you had with you flight cancellation, for which we are not responsible, not at all !
With the online travel agency Booking.com, you have booked, Nov. 26th, a 2-night stay for Jan. 05th and 06th. You have cancelled Jan. 04th, 1 day before the arrival, as you will see further.
You’ll find below the screen shot of the cancellation policy related to your booking with our guest-house :

Applicable Cancellation Policy If cancelled or modified up to 30 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged.
If cancelled or modified up to 15 days before date of arrival, 50 percent of the total price of the reservation will be charged.
If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.

You had, at least, 3 occasions to read the cancelation policy, before and after the booking :
1/ before booking : on www.booking.com, you had plenty of time to read the rates and cancelation policies.
2/ the day you have booked : this cancellation policy is also part of the confirmation that Booking.com sends to each guest.
3/ The day after your booking : this cancellation policy is part of the e-mail that we send to each guest, at latest 24 hours after the booking.

That means :
- you had up to Nov. 26th to cancel without any fee and up to Dec. 19th to cancel and save 50 % of the total cost of the stay.
- we charged your credit card in accordance with the cancellation policy

You wrote : As a consequence we cancelled 3 days prior to our booking

That’s not true : you cancelled the day before, Jan. 04th : here is the screen shot of the cancellation, on Booking.com website

Status cancelled by guest (Sunday, 04 January 2015 23:23:17 CET)
Applicable Cancellation Costs XPF 32960.00

You wrote “they said they have a 15 day cancellation policy so be wary of this”

With the 2 words “they said”, you want to make everyone believe that, Jan. 04th, we have just created this cancellation policy. I would say you just realized about it. You should have taken more time to read all the information.

You are not happy, as we did what you authorized us to do, with a booking in our guest-house on www.booking.com. We did charge your credit card and sent the e-amil below :

We are sorry that your flight was cancelled and had bad repercussions for your trip.
As mentioned in the first e-mail we sent today, we have already charged your credit card, in accordance with the cancellation policy which was part of your booking on booking.com :

If cancelled or modified up to 15 days before date of arrival, 50 percent of the total price of the reservation will be charged.
If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.

As the first days of January, just after New year's Eve, are part of the peak season, we will not modify our cancellation policy.
As it seems the airline company is responsible for the cancellation, we think you could ask them to pay you back. In order to help you for this approach, we have attached the invoice.
Sunny regards,
Philippe


Actually, you blame us for charging your credit card the amount you authorized us to charge and want us to be responsible for the mistake, the problem you had with the airline company. Are you serious ?

Corinne and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

What can be added to previous glowing reviews? My husband and I stayed for 4 nights and it was heavenly. There was no need to eat anywhere else though you have that option if you want. Snorkelling at the end of the jetty revealed many colourful fish and there was a beach just 100 m away if you wanted to try something different. Superb hosts, comfortable accommodation and gourmet meals. It's a good idea to bring tropical mosquito repellent for the daytime and strong sun block for all that glorious swimming.

Room Tip: The bungalow on the beach front was delightful if you love the sound of waves while all the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Our stay at Fare Vaihere was amazing. The reviews do not do the inn or the hosts complete justice. Philippe and Corinne are incredible caring, thoughtful and professional hosts. They are attentive to their guests needs and are more than willing to make recommendations on activities, dining and coordinate your stay on Moorea. The Fare Vaihere is in a perfect location on the beach on Opohonu Bay. Four incredibly intimate bungalows with private access to the lagoon where snorkeling, swimming and kayaking are readily available. But do not forget, if you stay, make sure you enjoy the culinary expertise of Philippe and Corinne for supper!

Room Tip: The Fare Vaihere has four bungalows all of which are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Fare Vaihere is located in one of the most beautiful areas of the island on Opunohu Bay. We stayed in the waterfront bungalow which was decorated with flowers, very clean and peaceful. Philippe is an excellent and professional host. He prepared a gourmet dinner for us, which was the best dinner we had on the island! The breakfasts were delicious and a great way to interact with the other international guests. We also took a liking to Pao Pao the dog--official greeter! The snorkeling is excellent off the pier in front of the property. Water was clear & warm. If you are looking for a hermetically sealed resort with pool, spas & restaurants--this is not the place for you. Instead, you will find quiet, classy bungalows in a beautiful tropical garden setting. Our hosts were gracious & helpful without being intrusive. Thank you again Philippe & Corinne!
Mary & Sean, Santa Barbara, California

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My nephew and I recently returned from a 3-night stay at Fare Vaihere. What a lucky find! We were fortunate enough to get the waterfront bungalow which was comfortable and just steps away from the water. Our host, Philippe, was extremely helpful in making suggestions and arranging transportation. He is also an excellent chef so do yourself a favor and enjoy the culinary delights as often as you can! Kudos to both Philippe and Corinne for such a great place to enjoy beautiful Moorea!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The great strengths of Fare Vaihere are its charming owners, it's location and its great value (by comparison with other Tahiti choices). Phillipe and Corinne go out of their way to please, and you do do as much or as little as you like with no pressure or time constraints. So, if you want, you can just sit by the sea and take in the sun and the fabulous view, or go snorkelling right off the jetty, kayaking, or riding a bike along the coast. To do other activities, you can be picked up and taken diving, driving, dining, hiking etc. There are four simple bungalows with nice ensuites and a verandah. Ask for the ocean front bungalow for the best views. No TV, so if you want to keep in touch with the outside world, take a Wifi device and use the free Wifi service, which you can also use to call home. Make sure you have dinner with Phillipe and Corinne at least once during your stay, and it is also a good way to mix with other guests. They offer a late checkout so you can catch the last ferry to Papeete for late night flights home.

Room Tip: Ask for the waterfront bungalow if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellertown
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights before we started a cruise through French Polynesia. this was a great way to start a vacation. Philippe and Corinne has created a comfortable, exotic and beautiful oasis. The meals were fantastic...both Philippe and Corinne are superb chefs. I suggested that Corinne publish a cookbook because she uses the freshest ingredients, salads, fish and chicken for the 1stand 2nd courses and then the fruit and coconut pies and tarts along with local ice cream!

the other bonus to staying we're the other guests. we really enjoyed meeting people from other parts of the world...mostly Europeans. and, Philippe and Corinne were friendly and fun as we'll. I really appreciated the course in coconuts provided by Jean Pierre and the friendly attitude of the staff. I would stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fare Vaihere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Vaihere

Address: Baie d'Opunohu | Papetoai, 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Moorea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fare Vaihere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Fare Vaihere in Moorea, French Polynesia : the quietude and the beauty of the location brings to the pension Fare Vaihere a resting and warm atmosphere in a preserved environment. The pleasant ambiance, around the four Polynesian style bungalows located in a flowered garden along the lagoon, will help you to relax. Imagine you just get up and enjoy the view of a lagoon so flat that there is no other way than jumping in, to meet colored fish, turtles or rays. Then it's time to go for breakfast, and later for your Atv or whales watching tour or scuba diving course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fare Vaihere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fare Vaihere Moorea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fare Vaihere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.