We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fare Vaihere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fare Vaihere to your Saves list
Fare Vaihere
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Baie d'Opunohu | Papetoai, 98729, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 16 Moorea B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Perfect Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fare Vaihere is located in one of the most beautiful areas of the island on Opunohu Bay. We stayed in the waterfront bungalow which was decorated with flowers, very clean and peaceful. Philippe is an excellent and professional host. He prepared a gourmet dinner for us, which was the best dinner we had on the island! The breakfasts were delicious and a great way to interact with the other international guests. We also took a liking to Pao Pao the dog--official greeter! The snorkeling is excellent off the pier in front of the property. Water was clear & warm. If you are looking for a hermetically sealed resort with pool, spas & restaurants--this is not the place for you. Instead, you will find quiet, classy bungalows in a beautiful tropical garden setting. Our hosts were gracious & helpful without being intrusive. Thank you again Philippe & Corinne!
Mary & Sean, Santa Barbara, California

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My nephew and I recently returned from a 3-night stay at Fare Vaihere. What a lucky find! We were fortunate enough to get the waterfront bungalow which was comfortable and just steps away from the water. Our host, Philippe, was extremely helpful in making suggestions and arranging transportation. He is also an excellent chef so do yourself a favor and enjoy the culinary delights as often as you can! Kudos to both Philippe and Corinne for such a great place to enjoy beautiful Moorea!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The great strengths of Fare Vaihere are its charming owners, it's location and its great value (by comparison with other Tahiti choices). Phillipe and Corinne go out of their way to please, and you do do as much or as little as you like with no pressure or time constraints. So, if you want, you can just sit by the sea and take in the sun and the fabulous view, or go snorkelling right off the jetty, kayaking, or riding a bike along the coast. To do other activities, you can be picked up and taken diving, driving, dining, hiking etc. There are four simple bungalows with nice ensuites and a verandah. Ask for the ocean front bungalow for the best views. No TV, so if you want to keep in touch with the outside world, take a Wifi device and use the free Wifi service, which you can also use to call home. Make sure you have dinner with Phillipe and Corinne at least once during your stay, and it is also a good way to mix with other guests. They offer a late checkout so you can catch the last ferry to Papeete for late night flights home.

Room Tip: Ask for the waterfront bungalow if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellertown
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights before we started a cruise through French Polynesia. this was a great way to start a vacation. Philippe and Corinne has created a comfortable, exotic and beautiful oasis. The meals were fantastic...both Philippe and Corinne are superb chefs. I suggested that Corinne publish a cookbook because she uses the freshest ingredients, salads, fish and chicken for the 1stand 2nd courses and then the fruit and coconut pies and tarts along with local ice cream!

the other bonus to staying we're the other guests. we really enjoyed meeting people from other parts of the world...mostly Europeans. and, Philippe and Corinne were friendly and fun as we'll. I really appreciated the course in coconuts provided by Jean Pierre and the friendly attitude of the staff. I would stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Me and my husband spent our first third of our honeymoon in Moorea, at Fare Vaihere.
It was a perfect decision to "diversify" our French Polynesian trip with a 3 nights stay by Corinne and Phillippe (and not to forget Pao Pao). I do not want to repeat all the advices again, it is a perfect place if you have a limited budget, and the island offers probably the most activities in French Polynesia. Our best dinner during our entire stay was prepared by Corinne, who is an excellent cook.
Our advice would be to ask for bungalow near to the ocean, because ours was the closest to the road and it was a bit noisy and very hot, and the bed was little uncomfortable.
Unfortunately we only spent one morning with snorkelling, it was a mistake, because the sea life in the laguna at Fare Vaihere is just amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farevaihere, Propriétaire at Fare Vaihere, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Ia orana Gabor,

Thank you for the time you took to write the review. Thank you very much for the rating you gave, even if you were disappointed with some aspects of you stay.

For the bungalows, we allocate them according to the date of booking. You were the last to book for this period (if someone asks for our waterfront bungalow and if it is already reserved, we clearly say it is not available). Some guests are disturbed by the noise and the roosters, some are really not disturbed.

For the bed, could you tell us why it was uncomfortable? Too hard, too small, too soft?

For the temperature inside the bungalow: we are sorry to learn only now that you had this problem. Why didn’t you told us during the stay, about it? If you had, we could have given you a second fan.

Have a very nice day.
Corinne and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here with my husband on our honeymoon in mid May just gone, and have nothing but good words to say about my time here. We stayed here for a period of 3 nights, and from our arrival to our departure, the whole time was an absolute pleasure.

The lovely Phillippe and Corrine, welcomed us on our arrival and saw us off kindly on our departure, and were the perfect hosts in between, accommodating us, as and when we needed them, and on hand to offer useful, helpful information as to their lovely little place on this lovely little island.

Our hosts were welcoming, friendly, interesting and most helpful to ensure we had everything we needed, wanted and could possibly ask for. From the free bikes and kayaks, the well equipped bungalows (there were only 5 of these, so it was nice and friendly still), the charming little library at our use, and the lovely common areas in the dining room, lounging area fronting the water and the charming pontoon over the water.

The bungalows had all we could have needed (no kitchen - but they can cook for you at a cost, if a local restaurant is not for you), mosquito net and plug in, big bed, enough plugs for all you could use, shower, toilet, enough towels, sink, fridge, kettle, enough storage space and drawers, and of course, and the incredibly free wifi. On top of this, the bungalows, each with a deck area, were situated around a garden area, but yet nicely shaded and retaining a degree of privacy due to the lush, flowering trees growing around each bungalow. Lovely! Ahh take me back there! Please!

The common areas were all very well maintained and cared for due to the lovely maintenance man Jean Pierre, the lady housekeeper (I apologise for not getting her name, but another lovely member of this little team who made the stay a true pleasure and complete) and Phillippe and Corrine. These areas were all comforting, serene, and stunning and make this place the perfect place it was.

So, will it be lounging on the sun beds in front of the snorkelling area right out the front of the dining room house? Sunset off the pontoon? Amazing snorkelling steps away from the front of the pension (even for novices like me - or experts like my husband?!)? A book, whilst lounging in the sun from the free little library? A kayak ride from in front of the into the calm waters fronting this lovely place? Or simply a lovely bike ride up the road, to maybe a beach? A restaurant? A jam/juice/liqueur producing factory? To be honest, even on foot, you can get out and see the beauty that this part of the island has to offer. Try the Moorea Tropical Garden, it's a bit of an uphill hike but worth it if fit and able - views, jams, vanilla, flowers, lovely! Plus the beaches on the way to the Hilton hotel, and that of the Hilton hotel, are both worth a shot if you seek a lovely beach. But if jet skiing, diving, walking, hiking, stunning viewpoints are more your thing, this place has it all to hand and accessible.

As to activities at hand, I would suggest doing all of the above. There is more than enough to do if you fancy it, however there is equally an abundance of peace and calm in this stunning setting if this is more your thing. Sunbathing with a book?! Lovely spot here to do this! In such calm that you never knew existed.

As to your eating plan, I would suggest half board (breakfast and dinner). We sadly only went bed and breakfast, but did do dinner with our hosts and fellow guests on our first night - and wished we could have done it each night. The food prepared by the lovely Phillippe and Corrine was divine, three courses of local, interesting, new food, served in an ambiance of chatter, banter, friendly travel exchanges and a real feeling of dinner amongst friends. This then frees you up to go explore at lunchtime, with options available close by quite easily, either on foot or on bike.

All in all, I loved this little place. being a very limited French speaker was no obstacle here either, and really, it is the lovely people and clean, comfortable and wholly charming accommodation, surroundings, location and setting that made this trip to Moorea what it was - a break in paradise!

Thank you, Phillippe, Corrinne, Jean Pierre and the lovely lady housekeeper. My most memorable part of our break in Polynesia, and on your stunning, piece of paradise. Merci beaucoup a tous!

Room Tip: A room closer to the sea may be more quiet? Though we were closest to the road, and had no issue at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Philippe and Corinne are running this pension perfectly and they can be proud of the quality of service they provide.
We were very well looked after , and they can help you with anything.
Of course they propose you a lot of things to do but please do not take this as a hard sale. They are just doing their best to ensure you have the best time possible on Moorea. We declined most of the offers as we had already planned our tour and this was not a problem at all.
Philippe helped us to hire a scooter to go around the island and we would recommend to do so, Moorea is a very beautiful island.
Philippe has a great sense of humour, and Corinne's food is amazing and I recommend to eat with them in the evening if you can.
Snorkelling in front of the pension from the pontoon was excellent, we even saw a turtle twice!
The morning of the departure, Philippe organised with their caretaker Jean-Pierre a free of charge demonstration about coconut tree and the coconut. We learnt about the tree and all its uses, as well as the coconut; how to open them, drink the water, eat the flesh, grate the flesh, and also make coconut milk. This was great and I would recommend to people.
We had a great stay and would certainly this pension over any other large resort on the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fare Vaihere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Vaihere

Address: Baie d'Opunohu | Papetoai, 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Moorea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fare Vaihere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Fare Vaihere in Moorea, French Polynesia : the quietude and the beauty of the location brings to the pension Fare Vaihere a resting and warm atmosphere in a preserved environment. The pleasant ambiance, around the four Polynesian style bungalows located in a flowered garden along the lagoon, will help you to relax. Imagine you just get up and enjoy the view of a lagoon so flat that there is no other way than jumping in, to meet colored fish, turtles or rays. Then it's time to go for breakfast, and later for your Atv or whales watching tour or scuba diving course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fare Vaihere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fare Vaihere Moorea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fare Vaihere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.