We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delightful, great casual dining.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snack Mahana

Snack Mahana
Moorea Pk 23,200 c/mer, French Polynesia
564170
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The locals told us about this place, and the food was excellent, and a great value, considering the prices at the regular restaurants.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Simply delightful, great casual dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I believe they are only open for lunch and were able to fit them into our schedule on our last day on Moorea. Both dishes we ordered were superb but the portions were so huge, I could barely finish half my meal. We had the fried fish with coconut milk sauce and the carpaccio. We did not have time nor room for dessert but it looked good. The ambience is simple seaside dining, outside, at the waters' edge. Service was slow as they were swamped with customers but the staff and setting were so pleasant we hardly minded. This is a good bet. And our copious lunch cost about $40.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    115
    16
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent - a Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Heard about Snack Mahana from TA reviews and I hounded my husband that this was one restaurant I did not want to miss. Got there right at opening time (11am) and there were already people there. Some of the tables were even reserved. You can tell this place has built quite a reputation. I had the tuna tartare and hubby had the grilled mahi mahi. The food was excellent! really our favorite meal on Moorea. And the service is great, friendly and prompt. We did not have to wait too long for our food. They seat you in the backyard of their garden and part of the house is the restaurant. Worth making the trip to this little gem. WIsh I could have eaten here more than once!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Go to snack Mahana.

You may wait some time before being served, but the food is delicious. An Excellent snack.

Authentic Tahitian family :) The restaurant is in their garden's house.

Not expensive. We went there 3 times during our stay in this wonderful island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is about a 20 minute walk from our hotel Intercontinental Moorea. Unfortunately they only serve lunch but is very tasty. They have several good dishes, but her grilled Mahi Mahi was spectacular. They are also very famous for their poisson crue. It is located right on the beach with a beautiful view. It is not a restaurant but it is the best lunch on the island with large portions for a very modest price. I only wish we could have gone their more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Almost certainly my favorite meal on Moorea. If you are driving around the island, you should without a doubt plan a stop. Not a fancy restaurant, but a very popular snack shack on the water. We were fortunate to be about the first customers in just after 11:30 on a Tuesday. The place was packed 30 minutes later. We had the grilled mahi and the Poisson Cru with a couple Hinanos and I was in heaven. Extremely fresh and tasty. Loved sitting in the shade of the trees by the water and watching the combination of locals and tourists.
Easiest recommendation - don't miss the Snack Mahana

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snack Mahana also viewed

 

Been to Snack Mahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snack Mahana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.