We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum - not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snack Mahana

Snack Mahana
Moorea Pk 23,200 c/mer, French Polynesia
564170
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 50 restaurants in Moorea
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The locals told us about this place, and the food was excellent, and a great value, considering the prices at the regular restaurants.
Encinitas, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Almost certainly my favorite meal on Moorea. If you are driving around the island, you should without a doubt plan a stop. Not a fancy restaurant, but a very popular snack shack on the water. We were fortunate to be about the first customers in just after 11:30 on a Tuesday. The place was packed 30 minutes later. We had the grilled mahi and the Poisson Cru with a couple Hinanos and I was in heaven. Extremely fresh and tasty. Loved sitting in the shade of the trees by the water and watching the combination of locals and tourists.
Easiest recommendation - don't miss the Snack Mahana

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    205
    62
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good snack food experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is a snack restaurant, but the food is very good and original, but don't expect a restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Run Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a restaurant run by a few women. It is situated by the shoreline overlooking fish swimming by. The tables are strategically set around the shrubs so you aren't crowded over by other patrons. Although it was quite windy on the day we were there, but the great food made it worth while. We particularly enjoyed the grilled Mahi Mahi. It was juicy and very tasty. Must try! Only downside for this restaurant is no pick-up. We went on the day we rented a car for 4 hrs. for sightseeing around the island. Reservation recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just as good as all of the reviews say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I came here twice when we were in Moorea. The first time we were staying on the island for a week and when we rented scooters we stopped here for lunch (we were staying at the Hilton and it would have been too far to walk - especially in the heat). The poisson cru was a heaping portion that I could barely finish. It was so tasty and so fresh! The seating is very casual as we sat by the ocean on patio furniture with simple table-cloth covered tables. But the view are so beautiful that it almost (I say almost) took away from the food itself. My wife had the mahi mahi and the quality was phenominal. The fresh-squeezed pineapple juice was the best pineapple juice I had ever drank... better even than anything I had even on the island itself forget about back home. If you have the chance, go there. We did and so happy that we made the trek over to that side of the island. When the cruise ship that we were on the next week came back to Moorea where do you think we went back for lunch again? That's right and guess what it was just as good time number two!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best lunch spot on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Food was excellent! I had the grilled mahi and it was the best I've ever had. The seasoning and sauce were awesome. My husband had the tuna burger which was delicious as well. Don't miss out on this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snack Mahana also viewed

 

Been to Snack Mahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snack Mahana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.