We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Delicious food for not hungry people”” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Coco D'isle

Restaurant Coco D'isle
PK 27.500 COTE MER | HAAPITI, 98728, French Polynesia
56.59.07
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 55 Restaurants in Moorea
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
““Delicious food for not hungry people””
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The place is nice and has lots of charm, the food is inventive and tasty - The staff DID NOT understand us almost AT ALL and was not that friendly and helpful.Lovely food, wonderfully presented.
The flavors of fresh mixes spices, herbs, in a light and inventive cuisine

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    59
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food in a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was my favorite of the restaurants we tried on Moorea. Excellent food, fast friendly service and sand between your toes.
The menu is huge and varied. The group of 6 of us went twice and didn't repeat any dishes. Tuna, mahi mahi, shrimp, and much more - all in a variety of styles.
Make sure to phone for a reservation as we saw people turned away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My fav!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my favorite restaurant of the trip. The moon fish was great!
Our hotel was able to make the reservation for us and a taxi was sent to take us to and from.
I love the atmosphere!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sand in Your Toes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A fun restaurant run by a French Chef from Paris who professes only to speak French, no English. Its true the floor is the beach and with the whimsical way the restaurant is decorated, this is a fun place. The Chef comes out of the Kitchen and greets you in French. I have been here several times and really enjoy his menu with reasonable wines. Don't dress haute-taughty this calls for the casual beach clothes and flip flops.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“A must in Moorea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental Resort up the road. Coco d'Isle was recommended by the concierge and we were very impressed. Someone from the restaurant came to pick us up from the lobby. Inside, the restaurant was small but had the full feel of beach-side restaurant; walls were made of bamboo and the floor was beach sand. Everything was clean though, even the washroom. The menu had many choices with a lot of seafood/ fish dishes that were all very well priced (20000-25000 francs). My wife and I enjoyed pre-dinner drinks (they have a great drink called Le Moorea, its one of the darkest green drinks I've ever had but delicious), entrees, dessert, coffee and it all cost a reasonable $88 USD equivalent. Many locals seem to eat here and we can see why. The dishes we enjoyed had a very local flavor to them - mine was curry with tuna and bananas, and my wife had a shrimp soup with coconut milk and vanilla. Both were outstanding. Also worth bringing your camera because the serving dishes are as impressive as the food. That was our first dinner in Moorea and it has set a high bar for the restaurants we will try next.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Coco D'isle also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
Maharepa, Moorea
 
Haapiti, Moorea
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Restaurant Coco D'isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Coco D'isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.