We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeler's Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoonarium

Lagoonarium
Afareaitu pk 8.5, Cote mer, French Polynesia
+689 87783115
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
531 reviews 531 reviews
286 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Snorkeler's Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

Idyllic snorkeler's paradise with electric colors, vibrant reefs, lots of fish, stingrays. Great fun and a good stop while on Moorea. It is just off the beach near Afafeaitu.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    40
    8
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Snorkeling Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

What a great experience from the boat ride over to the excellent workers. Awesome experience and a must for anybody that enjoys snorkeling with sharks/ stingrays etc.. Hands on experience with the stingrays was really cool. Knowledgable staff. We spent 4 hours at the place with our own little hut. Bring a cooler over full of beverages and snacks of your choice. #1 experience while visiting here

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

An experience of a lifetime! You get knee deep with sting rays while they are fed. Everything is very safe. You get to pet them and feed them if you want. After the sting rays, you swim further in the water to see the sharks and other beaufitul fish. But be careful, there is quite a bit of current there so hold on the ropes really tight and follow the locals' instructions. They know the area very well and will guide you the entire way. The boat ride to and from this place is beautiful and allows you to see Cooks bay and the coast. You can also spend a day at the little island next to the lagoonarium in the little huts. The locals are very welcoming and will take their time to make sure you have a great experience with the rays and sharks. I definitely recommend this attraction. One tip: wear beach shoes the entire time. There are tons of corals and you don't want to step on the stone fish.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic time, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

This was a fantastic stop on our drive around the Island. It was a little exxy but well worth it (I guess that is a contradiction, but I would do it again). The staff on the boat and the little island were friendly and full of interesting facts. The scenery was to die for. Views back to Tahiti, beautiful clear water, fish, fish and more fish. Even my wife got into the water - not known for getting her hair wet in the Ocean! We could've spent all day, but three hours was enough (don't forget the sunscreen).
Little things that made it special were the huts to change and store stuff in, there was a toilet and shower available, the guides were very friendly and open about the whole area, and swimming with the fish, rays and black tipped reef sharks, was great fun.
Look out for the small signs on the side of the road or you'll miss it.
It was a highlight of our trip.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

Do not miss this experience. Ignore the people who try to sell you the expensive lagoonariums. Matti picked us up from the Sofitel for an extra 20 and we had an amazing day on this motu!!! It was the highlight of our trip to swim with the string Rays and sharks. The little island is just beautiful and has all the accommodations you need. I'm so happy we found this on tripadvisor so thank you to all the other reviewers. It's totally safe for everyone. I did it 5 months pregnant and there were two babies in the water with us too. So go and have a blast! We also had their coconut chicken lunch and it was delicious.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagoonarium also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Lagoonarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoonarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.