We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best activity on Moorea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoonarium

Lagoonarium
Afareaitu pk 8.5, Cote mer, French Polynesia
+689 87783115
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$138*
and up
Bora Bora Snorkel, Sharkfeeding and Lagoonarium...
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Moorea
Attraction details
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Best activity on Moorea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was a fantastic experience for both of us. I'm a diver, and the snorkeling was so good that I didn't go diving: we went here for three days! Wilfred (the attendant on the Island) was friendly and helpful, giving out information and suggestions. We were provided a small hut (to keep our things and as a place to get out of the sun or rest if we wanted to. There are ropes strung (so you can pull yourself along if you don't want to swim or to fight the slight current), and a huge area to explore. Fish feeding was at 11:30 and 2:00, and we were surrounded by hundreds of fish of all kinds, Sting Rays, Black-tipped Sharks (non threatening), and Margareete, a 7' Mooray eel. There are several kayaks that are free to use, and we enjoyed paddling in the lagoon and around the island. It is located past the ferry landing, towards the village of Afareito, with a small shack on the ocean side of the road. Once you pay, they radio for the boat to come pick you up, and you have a 5 minute ride to the private island. Coffee, Tea, and Cocoa are provided at no cost, but they do not have any food. We can't say enough good about the experience! (cost is a reasonable 29,000 CPF (about $30).

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    31
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Intercontinental laggonarium in Tahiti is my favorite place on earth where to swim. Read about it in my comment on the Intercontinental hotel in Tahiti.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best place to explore a lagoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The owner built a little village on a big piece of rock, right next to a private island in the middle of the lagoon. He built little huts when you can rest and leave your things when you go snorkeling. He built a restaurant with washroom and shower that looks like a charming old boat . When you go snorkeling there is rope that helps you navigate in the lagoon. You can see sharks, sting rays, murenes, and all the usual multicolored fish. The owner built a little pool when you can see what the dangerous St Pierre look like as well as the scorpion fish. This was the best place I saw for snorkeling.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Lagoonarium was amazing! We parked in the parking lot and the lady in the hut there indicated she would call for the boat to come and pick us up. She also advised we would pay once we got to the Lagoonarium. We didn't really know what to expect!

The boat picked us up and took us to the Lagoonarium. He showed us to our private hut for the day where we could stow our stuff and gave a us a tour. It was a Wednesday and only 8 other people there so we felt pretty safe leaving our cameras and money in the hut - not sure what else you could do with it, while we went through the coral garden (took about an hour, but could have taken longer and gone a few times).

And then we were off along the ropes and through the coral garden! It was such a safe and somewhat easy (it was very windy that day and a lot of waves) way to explore the reef and see tons of fish, some rays, and my friend even saw a shark.

We brought our own masks and water shoes. Not sure if they provided snorkel gear, but recommend you bring your own. They did provide water shoes though. They also did provide water, coffee, and hot chocolate (free), but the advertisement said you could buy food, but we were told there was no food that day. So bring your own food and water!

We stayed about 4 hours and caught the morning feeding (11 or 11:30) and that was AMAZING! Do not miss it! The rays come, the sharks come, and all the fish! Get in the water with your gear and prepare for fun! Don't be afraid :) And definitely bring an underwater camera (or two!).

The guy feeding the fish and the boat guide were so friendly - would definitely go back but would bring food and more water :)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BEST of Moorea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I love this place. I cant believe it only has 6 reviews! You have to rent a car (or maybe book with a tour group) and drive here. There's a sign right out front. You parked and they have a boat that brings you a private island. There you can enjoy snorkeling in clear clear water and a pristine coral garden. When they feed the rays and black tip sharks, you can get a close look at them. If you are not a good swimmer, you can pull yourself with the ropes. it'll bring you to the different parts of the lagoon. The lagoon is not closed off, so fish are not trap in one place. If you don't want to swim, you can sleep in the tiny hut! This is one of the best things I did in Moorea and it was cheap!

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagoonarium also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Lagoonarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoonarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.