We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Tour at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiro's Tour

Hiro's Tour
BP 21 Maharepa, French Polynesia
(689) 56 57 64
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 57 Activities in Moorea
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great Tour at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were on the Star Princess and a person we had met on line booked this tour for about 40 of us. We were met right at the dock when we got off the ship and were told to gather and wait in the shade until everyone was there. The people associated with the tour were very nice and helpful. Oh by the way, by booking direct we saved about %50 off a similar trip offered on the ship. When our full group had assembled we boarded a large ferry like boat and headed off to swim with the rays and the sharks. The location could not have been better. The water was bout 5 feet deep and there were plenty of rays and sharks. Someone from the boat was in the water with you at all times and they supplied masks and fins. We stayed there about an hour and then headed to the shared moto for lunch and snorkeling. The snorkeling was great right off the beach in less than 5 feet of water. The lunch was very good and included the best pineapple I have ever had. Everyone at lunch was helpful and the food was pretty good. We then returned to the dock area and had plenty of time to shop and look around. Great tour at a very good price. Would highly recommend

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    4
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The swim with sharks and sting rays were great as was the trip around the lagoon. BBQ lunch was good with steak and chicken. Good entertain and fun.

The motu island beach was ok but not really a sandy beach. We shared the beach front with two other boats but there seemed to be a segregation of your area and ours so it wasn't crowded.

Just dislike the congregation of multiple boats due to the popularity of this activity but I guess its progress.

Liked them dropping off guests in main resorts.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Buyer beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked with Hiro a couple days prior to activity date early this month; received a call from him a few minutes before scheduled pickup canceling the day's trip. Stated reason was because 12 of the 17 reserved customers did not make it over from Tahiti on the ferry. Whether or not that one works for you, there were plenty of other stories of horrendous service by Hiro, including canceling on people who were already paid in full. Further, Hiro told me he had called an made alternative arrangements for us; but I asked more than once and this did not seem to be true/nobody had a record of it. If our concierge did not come to our rescue at the last minute, we would have lost our last chance for the tour we wanted.
So, buyer beware - don't ruin your trip!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Swam with sharks and sting rays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were determined to take a tour on our vacation. We knew we wanted to snorkel with the sharks and the stings rays. How incredible! The boat ride out to the motu was beautiful. Once we arrived to the motu we had a BBQ lunch(poisson cru, BBQ chicken and fish, very small glasses of beer and punch, and baguettes) and opportunity to snorkel. The lunch was very average. The current was really strong, but we started at one end of the beach and snorkeled down. However, hardly anyone was in the water and when we finished, we realized that everyone was already on the boat, waiting for us to finish. A little weird, but this tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Swimming with sharks and sting rays is pretty cool! It does get a little crowded in the water, but we swam right through. A sting ray even swam over my head.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Total disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked a motu picnic boat tour over a month in advance after reading such good reviews about it. I emailed Hiro directly and booked for my husband and myself, and received a confirmation. Then I was so excited that I mentioned it to my in-laws on the same cruise as us and they asked me to book for them too, so I did, and again received confirmation. On our day in Moorea, the four of us waited at the dock for Hiro to show up, and he never did. We looked around and asked at several of the vendors who live there and they said they didn't see him. In fact, 3 separate people that we spoke to said that he had left people stranded recently, just not even showed up or tried to contact them. They just shook their heads. We were left with nothing, because the tours that we could have booked through the ship were all full and had already left. If you want to make sure that you have an boat activity on Moorea, book with someone else, or you could find yourself stranded too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiro's Tour also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Hiro's Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiro's Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.