We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, not much adrenaline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ATV Moorea Tours

ATV Moorea Tours
PK 24.6 | Papetoai, 98729, French Polynesia
+689 707 345
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best way to discover the island of Moorea ,An adventure which the whole family will enjoy in total security
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun, not much adrenaline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The guide was really nice and informative. Most everyone in our group was French, but he took the time to explain in English everything. Despite not really being an exciting ride it was my favorite tour on Moorea. Great views of all the different areas on Moorea and it was cool to see the pineapple farming going on. Learned quite a bit about the island and would definitely do it again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    67
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good tour, not extreme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We just did this tour on our first afternoon in moorea. The atvs are fine quality and the guide (William) was friendly and knowledgable. We did the 3:30 adventure tour. I was surprised that half of it was on pavement. You see a local farm and learn about various fruit trees and flowers. When you are off road it is not very fast or extreme. Some may like this but I expected to go faster. Good views at the end when you go straight up magic mountain. Guide takes pics and sends promptly.
Recommendations: don't wear white or anything you don't want to eat dirty. Wear close toed shoes. The sides of the atv get very hot so pants are not a bad idea.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I did the 3.5 hr tour - it was excellent. You go through the back-roads and fruit farms all the way up to Mt. Belvedere for a great view and then another trip up to Magic Mountain for a 2nd lookout point that's just as good. The guide was very knowledgeable about the local scene, Moorea history and showed us a lot of cool stuff along the way. The roads are a bit rough so you need to be in decent shape, but this is not to be missed!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun, Tame Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I did this trip on our honeymoon. It was our favorite activity on Moorea, to be sure. My husband and I shared one ATV, as did each of the other couples. The guides speak both French and English well, so it is not a problem if you do not speak one or the other. They take you along the roads by the ocean and then up in to the center of Moorea which is a lush plantation and high school campus where they grow pineapples, etc. You also do a jam tasting. You also go up to some high points on the island to get some awesome views.

You have to be a little brave since you are driving on main roads with cars, but I never felt unsafe since they generally drive so slowly in Moorea. There is not much real "off-roading" on the ATVs, so I think it is suitable trip for most people, though you need some arm strength to maneuver the ATV. You do drive on some dirt paths and through some streams, but I believe there is a paved crossing in each of the streams, so nothing very bumpy or wild. We did the 2.5 hour tour, which we found to be sufficient, though you can also do a 3.5 hour version with an extra lookout point. Be sure to pack a rain jacket if you are there in August since we did encounter a good bit of rain, but it was warm and we were having so much fun, it did not bother us! The guides bring extra dry suits, so no worries if you do not have one.

Note that this is literally across the street from the IC Moana, but they will pick you up anyway.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great trip to the interior of Moorea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This tour was incredibly informative, in both French and English, and unbelievably beautiful. Our guide was very knowledgable about the history and the geology of the island. He pointed out the unique and abundant kinds of trees, flowers, and fruits of the island. The ATV ride itself was not challenging but still very fun. Our guide took many pictures of the group along the way. When our camera's battery died during the tour, our guide gladly took extra pictures of my wife and I, and of the scenery. A day later he sent the pictures to the entire tour group at no extra cost. Do the 3.5 hour tour with the extra stops at the look out points.

Great experience, good value, don't miss this.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ATV Moorea Tours also viewed

 
Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to ATV Moorea Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ATV Moorea Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.