We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect, perfect, perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linareva Moorea Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Linareva Moorea Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Linareva Moorea Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   P.K. 34, 5 | Haapiti côté mer, 98729, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay from 139.95 €
Ranked #2 of 16 Moorea B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“perfect, perfect, perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights in unit#5. We appreciated the attention to small details, very clean, steps to the water, honor system for beverages available. We took the kayak out daily for snorkeling, but good snorkeling from the pier as well. So much friendlier than a mega resort. Felt we experienced the real Polynesia here. All comes together because of the terrific couple that owns/runs Linareva. As former innkeeper ourselves, we know what it takes to maintain a great property like this. Job well done!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland I, Propriétaire at Linareva Moorea Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thanks for your good review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay at Linareva. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    45
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
131
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Absolutely loved my stay at Linareva. The room overlooking the sea was great, lots of room and very tastefully decorated. Loved that it had both aircon and a fan to circulate the cooled air. Hot water always on tap, and even had its own kitchen.

The views towards the the most glorious sunsets were marvellous. Very attentive hosts too. They have thought of almost everything to make a stay there great - even feeding the sharks at the end of the jetty to give snorkelling an added thrill - and yes they even proved the snorkel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

After travelling for 9 months this was exactly what we needed. Lovely friendly and interesting hosts, beautiful surroundings, the sea, the fish, the view, the gorgeous gardens. The room was very spacious and clean with a useful kitchenette. Aircon was an added bonus. The owners provide so many free extras such as bicycles, canoes, picnic area, snorkelling equipment which is great to watch the corals and even (friendly) sharks. I wish there more places like this. Beats a 5 star hotel any time. It was hard to leave!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punaauia, Polynésie française
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have spent 15 wonderful days in this resort. We had the impression to live in a place close to paradise..... We were very carefully cared for by Rolland & Edmee. The spot is such a beautiful place. When you are on the pier of the resort the sight is a 360 degrees. Anywhere you look is an awesome vue. And the sunset from the room is truly outstanding.

Room Tip: The best room is the one close to the pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

People were helpful. Enjoyed the honor bar for drinks and bottled water. Feeding the sharks was cool. Sunsets were amazing. Breakfast and dinner were served on our personal patio as an option. This works because you are pretty isolated at night. It was quiet.
Tv was in French. DVD players and dvd's would be a nice option. Great restaurant on papaibo beach. Dock was great. It was a good budget choice considering the cost of French Polynesia is over the top expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location by the water, the owners are very friendly, available for any information about activities to do on the islands. Kayak and bikes are available for free. The studio in the garden was clean, and only 30 m from the beach. The continental breakfast is good, fresh fruits bread and croissant with home made jams. Although we had to check out in the morning, we could leave our luggage at the reception and enjoy the day on a small island's lagoon, with snorkelling gear lent by the owners. I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Studio 6 (garden view) is a good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Loved it. We had beach bungalow #5 which was perfect for two people. The place was clean, the bed was comfortable, the kitchen well furnished. Everything we could have wanted, especially after having stayed at two "budget" accommodations (by choice, that is) earlier.

The location is certainly stunning, with the lagoon in front of you and Moorea's striking mountains behind. The entire staff was extraordinarily helpful and all spoke perfect English. The dock that goes out onto the water was picture-perfect and great for snorkeling so that you didn't have to walk out to the deeper water over all the coral beds. There were plenty of outdoor chaise longues to lie in. The whole atmosphere was relaxing. There was also shark-feeding every evening at sunset, which was really cool. You could get into the water with the sharks if you were so inclined, which we weren't! The snorkeling was really good just off the end of the dock. We also took a half-day guided hike with a very entertaining local guide up one of the nearby mountains, which provided stunning views and a fair bit of exercise. In short, Linareva is beautiful, well appointed, and totally relaxing.

I only have a couple of minor negative comments. Firstly, the dining options are very limited. We opted for the on-site dinner our first night, just for the sake of convenience. The food was plentiful and good, but not good enough to warrant the price. There wasn't a single vegetable in the entire meal, unless you count the three shreds of carrot garnishing the raw tuna appetizer. So, the rest of our stay we ate dinner elsewhere, which meant either having pizza at the only other establishment within walking distance, or having the concierge arrange transportation for us to one of several restaurants about 10 kilometres away. A couple of those restaurants provide free transport, but some charge upwards of 1000 XPF or more. If you have your own rental car or a scooter, none of this is an issue, but we didn't.

As for breakfast, I can't comment, because we supplied our own with groceries from the supermarket, mainly because we didn't want to pay the equivalent of $20 per person for a continental breakfast. The coffee maker in the bungalow made very good coffee, and there was a perfectly good sized fridge to hold all our food. I don't know what other people do for lunch, since it's not provided. We had shopped for food in Papeete before moving on to Moorea, but there is a very well stocked grocery store about a 20-minute walk from Linareva.

The other thing that didn't thrill me was that the "beach" was tiny, no more than 25 metres long. If you went beyond that at either end, you were on someone else's private property. So, everyone else who was staying at Linareva while we were there were very much "there" along with us. I never felt as though the two of us were completely alone. I've stayed at other places in French Polynesia where I felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. I guess what I'm trying to say is, because of the relatively small property, it's almost impossible to avoid the other guests.

But those are minor quibbles. If you want to stay in a really delightful bungalow in a beautiful setting, with wonderful staff, and don't mind a bit of a shlep for dinner, then I strongly recommend you stay at Linareva.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linareva Moorea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linareva Moorea Beach Resort

Address: P.K. 34, 5 | Haapiti côté mer, 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Moorea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linareva Moorea Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.LINAREVA Moorea Beach Resort is a traditional French Polynesia « holiday Family home ». An ideal lovely small hotel for lovers of nature, away from big touristic centers, but with every modern convenience and much more. Located on the wild side of the island, close to the famous surf spot of HAAPITI, it is as well the starting point for the most beautiful treks on Moorea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Linareva Moorea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linareva Moorea Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.