We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best coral gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temae Beach

Temae Beach
Moorea Island, French Polynesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Some of the best coral gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm a bit miffed when I read some of the other reviews about this beach - yes you can't compare it to your resort beach because errr...it's not combed first thing in the morning before you get out of bed! If someone was paid to pick-up the litter and all the fragments of dead coral etc it would probably look better than some of the resort beaches! Also, there are millions of fish in some of the most stunning coral gardens here and I can only assume that people are not snorkelling out far enough to see them. However, in saying that we saw Octopus and eels in fairly shallow waters close to the shore here..... amazing to watch the Octopus as they changed colour when moving from rock to rock! But further out in the very impressive coral gardens we were swimming amongst scores of beautifully coloured fish, some in huge schools of hundreds. Well worth a visit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    35
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Just OKay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We made a special trip here as it is mentioned as being a great beach. If you have a beach at your hotel, or in our case vaction rental,, there is no need to staop here, it is not very nice at all and pretty dirty.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This a great place to stop and see or hang out! It is a natural beach with some larger pieces of coral, not the kind of beach most people think of. But it doesn't take away the beauty of it and not to mention the spectacular view of Tahiti!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Do not miss Temae Beach.
Most beautiful beach on Moorea for sure.
Park on the public beach side, go for a swim, hang out, and then walk down to the sofitel and have lunch on their veranda...fabulous salads and gorgeous rose wine!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best beach in Tahiti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

One of the best beach in Tahiti and I still love it after many visits
Be aware the coconut and some nudists if you get close to the resort beach

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temae Beach also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Temae Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temae Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.