We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, friendly owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Te Miti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pension Te Miti to your Saves list
Pension Te Miti
Punaauia/Paea | Pk 18, 6 Cote Ouest Tahiti, 98717, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Tahiti B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good price, friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I arrived quite late from Auckland and had an arranged taxi waiting for me booked by one of the owners (Fred). Fred greeted me when I arrived, and since it was so late and I had booked a dorm room stay he decided to put me in a private room for the night for the sake of the other three people in the dorm room! Very nice! Breakfast was available in the morning- pretty basic with some tea, coffee, baguettes with spreads, and cereal. There is also a kitchen area with facilities for cooking your own food. There is a shared washroom facility with a shower, and another outdoor shower just behind the house (I preferred the outdoor shower!). The dorm room was quite small and cramped, but did the trick for the cost. The location is quite close to a nice beach (about 10 min walk), and about 10 minute walk from some of the food trucks in the evening. I suggest trying the food truck (roulottes) down the road.. for $10 you get a massive plate of food! I had the steak and frites- was cooked very well and tasted amazing! If you want to use internet you can use their computer (500 francs for a half hour), or try and hook up to the internet if you have a cable. This is a good place to spend a day or two on the cheap before heading to Moorea or your next destination. Unless you have a vehicle you are pretty limited in what you can do in this area- kinda out in the middle of nowhere. Can't beat the price though!

Room Tip: Dorm room has only 4 beds- but very small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
22
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A great B and B with a family feel as the Owners live just next door where a great breakfast is served every morning. Nice fresh coffee, tea, fresh fruits, cereals and of course the mandatory fresh french baguettes with butter and jams.
The owners are helpful and friendly and willing to please. We were there when Ann B was there and yes it was hot and humid with rain. In the tropics this makes things rather sticky. This weather was unusually wet even for the normal rainy season and was totally beyond the control of the Pension.
We found the kitchen well stocked with a microwave as well if needed. The garden was beautiful on the properties the Pension sits on, mango, breadfruit, etc. A very homey feel and nice to come home to after a day in Papeete or exploring the Island.
If you are more than one person get a private room it is worth it.
Our room was basic but comfortable and clean.
If, in the tropics, you must have a swimming pool, AC and frills then maybe you might consider a hotel ... but you will certainly pay a much higher price.
This place is certainly good value for the money.
If you have a chance, spend some time relaxing in the covered patios or chatting with fellow guests. We stayed in 3 other places in Tahiti as well as on other islands and were happy to come back here. Jan and Feb 2013
Thank you Fred and Christelle for your warm hospitality, enduring my poor French, and kindness to my father.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hostel is a place to feel home. They serve a very Nice breakfast and THE kitchen facilities are good. Is not quite luxury for sleepingroom, most of all because of THE many daymosquitos which are around. Small dorm, private rooms are better. We likje THE road into THE mainland, THE big road to THE beach is full of heavy traffic, quite annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hi, I just came back from a trip to Tahiti, and for your info a good place to stay in Tahiti is with Fred and Christelle.
This a Bed and Breakfast with a family atmosphere and the owners are really helpful to organize your trips in different island if you want.
every morning we have a nice and long breakfast, and it is very pleasant to start the day by sharing good tips and info about what must be seen in Tahiti and her Islands
with the feed back of trip and all the bed and breakfast I stooped by during my Trip i think that Pension Te Miti beat them all, in terms of pricing and accommodations. A place you must go.
Jack

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It was only the charm and helpfulness of the proprietors, Fred and Christelle, that raised our review to 2 star. For 5 nights we had a double bed room in the main part of the pension rather than the dormitory in the hostel section catering for back-packers. The room was finished to minimal standards and was not cleaned every day. The bed had a very lumpy, stained mattress. We found the electric fan was insufficient ventilation for the heat and humidity. Given the number of flying insects window screens would have helped. The communal bathroom further along the verandah had a loo, shower and 2 hand basins, and also seemed to be a magnet for cockroaches and big, interesting millipedes. In addition there was an outside shower with view. One thing we has not been told about was where to find the key to the bathroom when it was locked at night! As well as this vital information an outside light or a torch would have been helpful. Breakfast was a sociable event with coffee, cereal and baguettes. The communal kitchen had the usual cooking facilities but minimal equipment to do it with. The location was not ideal for us, the nearest local restaurant was shut though we did find a Chinese resturant about 1k away. The little supermarket, about 1/2k away had some basics. The bus to the city took about 1/2hour and a return bus seemed infrequent after 5pm. A local taxi driver was keen to dispute our agreed price for the return trip, (thanks for sorting that one out, Christelle). We recommend the ferry over to Moorea and the hire of a car over there to explore the pleasant island. Fred organised the hire of a local car to explore Tahiti at reasonable rates and knowing what we know now we would not have stayed on Tahiti but used it as a stepping off place for other islands. The people make it the place it is, we only had to stand on a street corner with a map and some friendly person would ask us if we needed help.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

standard backpacker room facility, useful local knowledge from host. I arrived in low season , had the whole room to myself for some days of my stay.Could not remember the complimentary breakfast though

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Pension te Miti is a great place to stay while in Tahiti. The location is beautiful, near both mountains and the ocean (Sapinus & Paea for surfing), and, contrary to many places in Tahiti, only a short walk to food (including roulottes, a supermarket, & a 24hr. gas station). While staying there, I enjoyed a delicious meal with a paraglider from the Marquises. He was very kind and did not accept my offer to pay money. These are the sort of people that you will find at Pension te Miti - down to earth, friendly people. Christelle was very accommodating and was anxious to help in any way she could. For the price, it is almost impossible to find somewhere to stay that is better. You will feel more than comfortable staying at Pension te Miti.

Room Tip: Private rooms may result in less disturbance during the night (as expected in dorm style hostels)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Te Miti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Te Miti

Address: Punaauia/Paea | Pk 18, 6 Cote Ouest Tahiti, 98717, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Tahiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfst 200 meters away from the white sandy beaches of Tahiti. A friendly atmosphere - included every morning on the terrace in the garden with fresh fruits and French baguette !! Self service. Rooms and dorms : nightly - weekly - monthly rentals surf spots : sapinus, mairie of Paea, Taapuna, papara,... Teahupoo... All with accessible surf Also departing from the pension : scuba diving trips - 4WD tours of the island - surf school - paragliding... Restaurant - picnic area - car rental - shops, supermarket - snorkeling... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Pension Te Miti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Te Miti Tahiti, South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Te Miti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.