We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Museum" is a stretch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Gauguin Museum

Paul Gauguin Museum
PK 51, 2 Papeari | Taravao, French Polynesia
(689) 57.10.58
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 19 attractions in Tahiti
Type: Art Museums, Ballets
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum features the original works and reproductions of the great French artist.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“"Museum" is a stretch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I'm really surprised at the recent semi-positive reviews for this "museum." There are no original Gauguin works here, just a basic timeline of his life and some prints / posters of his work. It was pretty pathetic and requires about 15 minutes to peruse. The view from the nearby shoreline is probably the best part about the place. 300 cpf felt like a stretch, but at least there is a restroom.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    11
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“300 Francs Well Spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The museum is very interesting, yes it could do with a facelift but the information is mostly in English as well as french and there some interesting stuff in there. The organised round the island tours seem to stop there for 30 minutes but it's worth talking a bit longer to wander round. Nice views from the coast here too

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not enough time to see it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stopped at the Paul Gauguin Museum while on a Princess shore excursion. There are multiple buildings set out in a pattern that invites you to walk through them in a certain order. If you do, you are treated to a walk through Paul Gauguin's lifetime, beginning with his childhood. It is a lot of fun and a lot of information. My friend and I are nerds, so we were happily reading every word in the last building, just as we had the first few, when the tour guide approached us to tell us that everyone else had been back on the bus for quite some time. (oops!) We rushed to make a couple of purchases at the gift shop, then ran to the bus. Lots of hard stares from our travel companions. I wish we had had more time to walk through the grounds. It was just gorgeous!!!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting museum for Gauguin fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The building is interesting on its own and its set right by the beach. The museum tells Gauguin's life history and shows how his work developed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Interesting diversion to fill your day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

As stated in other reviews, the exhibits are dated and mostly in French, but adequate English to get most everything. Entrance fee is only 300 XPF (about $3.50) so no big deal. Gauguin had a big impact on Tahitian art. Do not spend more than 40 minutes here as there are other things to do. The museum store is poorly stocked. If you have only time for one museum, go to the James Norman Hall house.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Gauguin Museum also viewed

 

Been to Paul Gauguin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Gauguin Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paul Gauguin Museum to your Saves list