We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicken Gold Camp & Outpost

Chicken Gold Camp & Outpost
1/4 mile Airport Rd, Chicken, AK 99732
907-235-6396
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Chicken
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Relaxing, off-the-highway retreat in Chicken, with an active gold mine, a gold dredge tour, gold panning, recreational mining and river recreation. The park includes FREE WiFi, cafe, espresso/smoothie bar, gift shop, rooms & cabins, showers and kayak rentals. Seperate caravan area with pavilion for large groups. Pull-thrus and electric sites available
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 NEW

If you have the time and the vehicle to do it, driving Top of The World Hwy to Chicken, Alaska is different and fun.

Once there, you will find a tiny outpost with a few stores. The main attraction for us was walking around the dredge and watching people gold pan. You can rent a gold pan and time to use it in the trough provided. They bring the pay dirt to you and you can keep whatever flakes you find. This would be a great family type of activity.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Huge Dregde, great scones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

When in Chicken, visit Chicken Gold Kamp! There´s a huge dregde, you can visit it for free, but only from the outside. There a great artwork of a chicken on top of the hill next to the dregde. The dredge was full of swallow nests, lovely pictures! In the outpost (also nice souvenirs) we bought freshly made raspberry scones and great cappuccino for on the go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M B, Owner at Chicken Gold Camp & Outpost, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
As Pascalle mentions, you can walk around the dredge (a million pound gold dredge that mined Chicken Creek) and all of the associated historic displays for free. But you can also take a great tour through the dredge; and this dredge is one of the most complete dredges open to the public in North America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eemnes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice but very remote”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

If you Like to pan, Just do it!!! Nice people, very friendly. Watch the lavatory, very funny. Read the book Tisha, very interesting if you've been in chicken

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M B, Owner at Chicken Gold Camp & Outpost, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks Heleen. Yes, we are remote as much of Alaska is and that is one reason we like it here. And because of our remoteness and living off the grid, there are some things that the community of Chicken can't offer. But we do our best to provide a comfortable and friendly visit for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quick tour stop-great place for unique gifts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were on the Holland America Gold Rush land tour. Chicken Saloon, Chicken Emporium and Chicken Poop was a pit stop for our bus on the way from Dawson to Tok. Fun stop, great souvenirs. Wish we could have stayed longer. Scenery on the way there was beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent 2 days in Chicken in the RV park. We went gold panning on a claim in the middle of nowhere. We we're taken out on ATV and after being shown how to work the high banker we were left on our own (4 of us). We spent whole day panning and did get gold including a couple of very small nuggets. We had to dig out the earth but it was great fun. The night before on advice from locals we walked down to the airfield to look for moose. We heard one in the water and finally saw it together with a couple of others. Saw one closer up on the second night of our visit Chicken is a unique place and one of a kind

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicken Gold Camp & Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicken Gold Camp & Outpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chicken Gold Camp & Outpost to your Saves list