We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic annual trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cantwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Creek Lodge
Save
You added Alpine Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Mile 68 Denali Highway, PO Box 121, Cantwell, AK   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic annual trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

For the past 3 years in March a group of our friends from Valdez, AK have traveled together to the Alpine Creek Lodge by snowmobile. We park in Paxson and make a day of riding to the lodge along the Denali Highway, spend two nights and then take another day for the return trip. Each year we have such a great time!
The rooms are exactly what we all had pictured for a comfy lodge environment. There is a big wood burning stove in the main room downstairs, with a communal dining table just beyond it. The outside walls are lined with rooms that either have bunk beds or a queen size bed. They don't have private baths, but that was never a problem for our group since we were renting most of the lodge each time. The rooms and bathrooms were always clean.
The food was hearty and plentiful. Coming in to a nice pot of beans warming on the wood burning stove in the living room was a treat, and helped warm you up after a long ride. Claude and Jennifer and their son Bob always make you feel like family, and sitting down to dinner or breakfast around the big dining table was truly sharing a meal with family and friends.

Room Tip: The Queen rooms on the second floor are our favorite since only those rooms share the 2 bathrooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
12
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I rode our snowmachines out to Alpine Creek Lodge for a night and it was one of the best rides ever! From the time we unloaded our sleds the scenery was amazing and with every mile became more beautiful and that was just the beginning of our trip. The lodge was warm, comfortable and you feel right at home. We had a warm lunch and headed right back out to ride until dinnertime. By far the best snow I've ever rode in and Jake was an excellent guide showing us places and pointing out interesting things to us. We are looking forward to visiting again and would highly recommend Alpine Creek Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My snow machine trip was into some of the most amazing area I have ever been in! The owners/staff made sure that I felt at home with the family atmisphier and that I wanted for nothing. I highly recommend ALpine Creek Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Our stay at the Alpine Creek lodge was everything from thrilling, fun-filled snow adventures to relaxing, and enjoying good food and pure interior Alaskan hospitality. A three day stay was not enough to soak in all that the area and gracious hosts have to offer. We'll certainly return to experience more of both. The home-like feeling of the lodge set in some of the most beautiful Alaskan landscapes and will make you want to stay well past your checkout date. The family run crew make you feel comfortable and relaxed from the minute you meet them, not to mention their motivation to share what the area has to offer in the way of scenery, adventures, and flat out fun.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

After all the other raving reviews that have been passed on I had no doubts ACL was the place. My gal and I wanted to get off the beaten path and spend a lot of time ridin. We planned 4 days in Denali staying with Claude and Jen and the experience was amazing.

The lodge itself is top notch and felt like home. Jens home cookin was amazing. Anything we needed was readily available.

Claudes expertise in the surrounding area was second to none as far as navigating a good snowmobile ride each day.

We are already planning a return for 2013!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, AK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Alpine Creek Lodge hosted a long weekend snowmachine ride that was fantastic.
There were 25-30 people through out the long weekend and Claude, Jennifer and the rest of the staff treated the whole group as if we were part of the family.
The riding was by far the best I had all winter.
Definently going back again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

A stay at ACL (Alpine Creek Lodge) is like staying with family. We have been there twice and will return again and again. The family atmosphere is the greatest. Claude, Jennifer, Bob and Chrissy are the most generous hosts and make everyone feel at home. This is a remote lodge, but has all the comforts of home without the hotel feel. Set deep in the Alaska wilderness surrounded by miles and miles of true adventure. A day trip out of the lodge by snowmachine is filled with wonder and amazement. The beauty of the mountains and the wide open spaces is, simply, INSPIRING. Wildlife is ever present. Every visit brings a new experience. Meeting new people as well as old friends (everyone leaves as a friend).

Room Tip: Book early for large rooms, but every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Creek Lodge

Address: Mile 68 Denali Highway, PO Box 121, Cantwell, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Cantwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cantwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a wilderness lodge in remote Alaska. We are open year round, every day. Alpine Creek Lodge is on the Denali Highway, so travelers can get there in the summer easily. In the winter, the road is not plowed from October 1st to May 15th. During this period, snow machine, dog mushing, skiing, etc are the only way to get to us. This requires a 65 mile ride on the snow from Cantwell, and 68 miles from Paxson! We are on the side of the Alaska Range, and this is where you will find real Alaska! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Creek Lodge Cantwell, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.