We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bettles Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bettles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bettles Lodge
Save
You added Bettles Lodge to your Saves list
100 Bettlesfield, Bettles, AK 99726   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairbanks
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

This was a trip like no other. Spectacular views of the Yukon, very scenic flight, arrived at Bettles Lodge where we were greeted by an outstanding staff. Feasted on Alaskan crab and prime rib (tried moose for the first time.) Enjoyed dog mushing, the northern lights and brought the new year in at a warm bon-fire while watching the Bettles Lodge fireworks display. Meeting many locals, chatting with guests from South Africa and Japan in such a cozy environment was one of the many highlights from our trip. We cannot wait to book our summer vacation at Bettles Lodge.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
29
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

We spent the best fours days I ever had in a tiny place called Bettles Ak at the Bettles lodge. The lodge was well kept and the staff was outstanding. I felt I was staying at my friennds house and not a hotel. The townspeople stoped by the lodge every day and I felt as if I was a member of the community and not a guest. It was one big happy family. Even Max the town Musher was excellent and we spent a day just playing with his dogs. To me this is a must for anyone who like something different and exciting. Yes it was cold outside, but the lodge had Artic Gear to use.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2005

Fantastic wilderness Alaskan experience!
My family of three arrived in the afternoon and were out on the Koyukuk River tour that afternoon. We enjoyed visiting with other guests and had delicious food at dinner plus cocktails.The waitress and cook and manager were all wonderful folks.

We had a second day to walk on the tundra, canoe and flight see the Arrigetch Peaks. Thanks to Tyler and Lance we learned a lot about the area! We have told all our friends about the Bettles Lodge flights and how we are planning to come back to travel by raft on the Alatna River.

The float planes were very comfortable and the pilots showed us the Brooks Range and wildlife as we soared over valleys and mountain tops in the Gates of the Arctic National Park! Wow. We want to see the northern lights next time in August or September.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

We have just returned from a weeks stay with Bettles Lodge in Bettles, Alaska. We went for the viewing of the Northern Lights but stayed on longer than we had planned and enjoyed dog sledding and just being in the gentle, quiet atmosphere the lodge created. We found the staff to be not only experienced but helpful in planning our day outings. One of the things we enjoyed the most was the Arctic Circle tour where we flew to the Brooks Range and viewed the wildlife from the air, the Caribou were abundant and for us, a thrill to see.

For viewing the Northern lights, Bettles is the best place to be. It is remote, you could stay indoors and watch the sky from the comfort of the room or go out the door and watch the sky present it's show. Bettles Lodge also has a viewing cabin where you can get away from the few lights that are in the small village and have a complete view of the night sky, the kids enjoyed that the best.

All in all, spending our vacation time at Bettles Lodge is going to be a vacation that we repeat, we can't wait to go back in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talahassee, FL
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

It felt like coming home when we arrived at Bettles with the wonderful welcome we received from Bettles Lodge crew. We moved into a comfortable room at the new Aurora Lodge. Sauna and Jaccuzi time that night helped us to unwind after a day of busy traveling. They have a great wood fired sauna where we could see the Northern Lights right out the window. The next day we toured the village and went dogsledding.
The best part was that night going out to the Aurora viewing cabin for a light show that filled the sky with dancing curtains of color. We had the time of our lives and recommend this trip for anyone wanting to see the Northern Lights. It was spectacular!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bettles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettles Lodge

Address: 100 Bettlesfield, Bettles, AK 99726
Location: United States > Alaska > Bettles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bettles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Bettles Hotel Bettles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bettles Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.