We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to get back to Bettles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bettles Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bettles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bettles Lodge
Save
You added Bettles Lodge to your Saves list
100 Bettlesfield, Bettles, AK 99726   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back to Bettles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

After a week on the John River (with canoe rentals and float plane drop courtesy of the Bettles Lodge), we spent the night at the lodge before heading south. The staff at the lodge is incredible. Every member is pleasant, professional, and exceptionally competent, from pilot to cook to the front desk clerk. They learned our names immediately and made us feel welcome. Every detail of our trip was well planned and we can't wait to go back, maybe for one of Sven's winter camping/sled dog trips.

Room Tip: We camped on the Lodge grounds, but they also have private rooms and bunkhouse beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
29
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Cannot say enough good things about the staff here. Every time we thought we might be getting bored, it seems like one of them came up with something for us to do while we were waiting for the weather to clear. And anything we wanted to do, they made it happen for us. Great bunch of people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Best place to see northern lights--nothing to block the view; excellent food--and plenty of it; Hazel is a great hostess--loved her husky mix dog, Noah, who was part of the family. Rooms are clean and comfortable; plenty of winter gear available to borrow--coats, bunny boots, hats, gloves, etc. Bonfire one night while watching lights was very memorable and fun. Met a lot of very nice people--locals and guests.

Room Tip: Room with private bath best; but shared hall baths are fine--had both types of rooms during stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Thanks to Jamie, Sven, Hazel, Tyler, Joe, and Brian, plus all the others who helped us out at Bettles Lodge. It was an amazing trip, one I hope we can do again in a couple of years. Great people, great place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKLynK, General Manager at Bettles Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thanks for your visit to Bettles ! It was a pleasure having you as a guest, we are very happy you chose to experience Alaska with the Bettles Lodge Team ! Be sure to check out the new and improved look on the website ! Have a great winter wherever your snow is falling.. or not falling ! From all of us at the Lodge : Jamie, Hazel, Sven, Roger, Bryan, Tyler and Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Getting to Bettle's Lodge is an adventure in itself. The location is reachable by bush plane only except for a few months in the summer. The sights are incredible as you fly into this tiny village.
The Lodge itself is rustic, the rooms are basic, but comfortable and warm. The food was a bit dissappointing...mostly canned and packaged food...which I guess you have to expect for such a remote location. All food items are flown in, so fresh produce is limited.
The staff, especially the manager Hazel, was very gracious and helpful and provided lots of information concerning the Northern lights and other outdoor activities.
The prices are a bit high, especially for meals...we paid 30 dollars per person for a dinner of roast beef, canned corn and mashed potatoes out of a box, 15 dollars per person for bisquick pancakes with two breakfast sausages and a glass of orange juice.
The basic room, with a shared shower/bathroom in the hallway, was 185 dollars for two people.
So if you are expecting luxury accomodations and lots of food choices, this is not the place for you. If you are seeking time away from it all and enjoying incredible nature...then plan a visit here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I had always wanted to see the Northern Lights and search all over the Internet for the best place to stay with the most amenities to offer. The staff was extremely helpful in telling us the best times of the year to come up, the most likely times the aurora would be seen. Once we got up to Fairbanks the adventure began! This is a fly in only lodge...no roads except 6 weeks a winter when the ice roads are driveable (think Ice Road Truckers). We took a bush plane up to the Arctic Circle and met our host(s). The lodge was quaint and rustic, if you want 5 star you shouldn't be going to the Arctic Circle! There was internet access, but via satellite. And no cell service (a wonderful thing if you want to escape the office!) However, with that being said, the staff was wonderful, the rooms were comfortable (we stayed in both the room with a private bath and a shared bath), the food was quite delicious and the Arctic gear provided to us made us warm and comfortable. The staff was more than accomodating and friendly. This is a trip to take if you want to see the northern lights, experience the Arctic Circle, and spend time getting to know other people who are from all over the world visiting for the same reason. Its a small quaint lodge and very easy to make new friends! Can't rave enough about the staff, the villagers, the extra activities, the scenery and of course the lights! Wonderful! By the way, I rated sleep quality a little lower only becsue you are up from midnight until 2-3AM watching the lights! You just don't want to go to sleep...they really do dance across the sky!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Excellent staff. Good food. Arctic activities. Staff and guests bond ...it is almost like visiting in someone's home. Hoping to revisit during the autumn season. Loved it!

Suggestions:...
1..need provision in rooms for placement of bags...(I shared my bed with my luggage!)
2. Place bottled water in rooms daily for usage in dental hygiene...tap water has exceedingly high mineral content

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bettles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettles Lodge

Address: 100 Bettlesfield, Bettles, AK 99726
Location: United States > Alaska > Bettles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bettles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Bettles Hotel Bettles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bettles Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.