We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican of the North!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe's North Of The Border - CLOSED

Pepe's North Of The Border
1204 Agvik Street, Barrow, AK 99723
(907) 852-8200
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Marysville, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mexican of the North!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Barrow, Alaska is truly an experience and it wouldn't have been complete without a trip to Pepe's. We had dinner there the evening of August 30th and, unfortunately, the place burned to the ground Saturday morning. (They are promising to rebuild) Hope is wasn't something I did! The service was great and the food was good. But in Barrow, there aren't many options. My wife and I were able to become members of the Arctic Circle Club. Not sure how many members there are but Pepe's gave us our certificates. All in all, a very nice place to eat. Beware of the salsa! VERY HOT! And the view of the Arctic Ocean was unique!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    32
    19
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
“Best Tex Mex food North of the Arctic Circle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Well, on any visit to Nome (which I recommend,) the first stop for food is Pepe's. The food is great, informal friendly atmosphere, and loads of local color. Need to get your bearings; want to book a tour; have questions that are hard to find the answer to "down south;" the folks here will help you out. Most of the Aleuts in town stop in for Take-out. Fran will be there to greet you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Burned to the ground August 31, 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Anchorage Daily News reports that Pepe's burned to the ground this morning.
Owner Fran Tate, at 83, says she will rebuild. And she will. Fran's a fighter.

The adjacent Top of the World Hotel got heavy smoke damage, but fire fighters were able to save it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice to have a Mexican option, but the food was just average. Beggars can't be choosers really. Nice atmosphere, service was a bit brusque.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Peeps was good for dinner and breakfast. Burrito pancakes decor all good. Would recommend. We all liked.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe's North Of The Border also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe's North Of The Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.