We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Caye Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobacco Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tobacco Caye Paradise
Save
You added Tobacco Caye Paradise to your Saves list
Tobacco Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Been there in 2004.

Tobacco Caye Paradise is really a paradise. Imagine an island with the dimension of a fooball field with only few hotels surround by the second biggest corral reef in the world.

All you have to do in this tiny island is diving or snorkeling. You pay for a bed and 3 meals a day.

The meals was ok, not so great but just ok to give you the energy needed for you activities.

It is wonderful at night to see the stars from this island. You have the impression to be alone on earth!!!

One day I will return in this paradise !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at 3 different places on Tobacco Caye and by far, Tobacco Caye Paradise was the Best!! The clean rooms have decks that are over the water! My husband and I would lounge on the deck in the hammock and chair, while watching skates and fish swim by 3 feet away. The bed was the most comfortable I'd slept on during our 3.5 week Central American trip. The staff was so friendly and accommodating and made such delicious food (even for special diets)! The meals were served family style and we always looked forward to hearing the meal bell and enjoying the food with the other guests. After 2 glorious nights, Paradise had been previously booked by a touring kayaking group and we were sad to have to leave and go to another inferior place but we were so happy to have gotten to stay there at all. WE LOVED TOBACCO CAYE PARADISE!!!!

Room Tip: This place soes get booked by big groups at certain times of the year, so plan ahead so you can make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

People looked at us like we were crazy when we told them we were taking our 18 month old to a tiny island in Belize....but this place was truly Paradise! Admittedly, they don't get too many babies there (I think there have been two on the entire island in the past year or so). Paradise was very family-friendly. They welcomed us with warm smiles and open arms and made us feel like part of the family. Becky was wonderful (and even helped babysit while we went out on a snorkeling trip), Sandra and Carmen made delicious food that even the baby ate, and all the others we met - Doreen, Miss Lou, James - were friendly and went above and beyond to take care of us. The food included homemade tortillas, chicken, fresh-caught fish (and if you fish, they will cook what you catch for you), coconut rise and beans, fresh fruit and salads, fresh-squeezed juices, eggs, cheese, filtered water, etc. We ate everything and didn't have any problems (and I have a sensitive stomach). I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island. If you go, I recommend staying a while as it takes a couple days to really let go and get into the Island lifestyle. We had a relaxing and comfortable routine of waking up, going for a morning snorkel with the baby, eating delicious breakfast, putting the baby down for a nap and leaving him in the room as we went to the other side of the island to snorkel, then coming back to nap in the hammock and play in the beach. Repeat. I only wish I had brought another book because we had so much time to relax! Of course, you do need to appreciate a more rustic living quarters to enjoy this place - the showers are cold (rainwater) and nights could get pretty hot because we had to close the windows at times due to the strong ocean wind. We didn't have any problems with jellyfish, but we witnessed a couple others getting stung on our last day. I would also suggest going for a 1/2 day snorkel trip with AC who lives on the island with his family and has his own boat. We didn't see any manatees with him, but he did catch a fresh lobster right in front of us that Sandra and Carmen cooked for us to eat that night! As a trained diver, this trip made me appreciate snorkeling even more than diving since it was so easy and affordable. Great island, amazing lodging and food - we will be back!

Room Tip: Definitely choose the cabins over the water and make a reservation if you can. The rooms with the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It's not often you get the chance to stay in a lovely private cabin above the caribean sea.. Tobacco Paradise is one of these places ! Like a postcard. Lovely staff, nice dining room for all the customers to meet up. Absolutely lovely ! The only thing a bit disapointing was the food : we would have loved to get sea food and something a bit upscale that match the standard of the cabins but only got hamburgers and chicken.. But the cook changes often so you might get luckier!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend two nights at Paradise in March. There are 6 in our family and we had two cabins joined by a veranda. It was spectacular--we rarely slow down on vacations, but you really had no choice and it was wonderful!

Lazy hammocks over the water, watching stingrays float by, wonderful snorkeling all around the Caye, waves crashing on the barrier reef just feet from the Cabins...simply amazing. One night we were treated to a spectacular show of luminescent worms making their way from the reef to who knows where--it was like the night sky was in the sea below.

The food was excellent and served family style for all guest which was a real treat--we got to sit and eat/talk with people from all over the world--and even my finicky eaters ate! Becky was wonderful--so friendly and helpful, even when Megan got stung but that blasted stingray. She was quick with the water and calming voice for Megan until we got to her ourselves. Then an hour in the hammock and Megan was good as new!

Awesome little retreat, cool little Caye--BEST place to stay on Tobacco, hands down!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed two nights and had one of the best experiences of our trip - truly paradise!

- basic cabanas, but with a Porch and a hammock over the sea what else do you need?!
- food is Very good and varies - They really made an effort
- service was Very good. Becky was Fun and helped us out even when we went to another place
- best little stretch of beach on the island
- amazing value for money (only 90 dollars including food!)

Paradise is the best value on the island. We had the bad luck that we couldnt stay longer because They were booked up. Loving the island so much we stayed at Lanas on the Reef, which was one of the worst places we stayed in ever (see my review). My opinions of all the other places on the island is that They are Either scruffy and ramshackle (blue dolphin, mayweather), overpriced (tobacco lodge) or, worse, both (reefs end, what a dreadfull place!).

As a final note: I read reviews that the island and reef are dirty and the Islanders don't clean up their island - I can State that This is NOT true!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a place to come crash and go snorkle, this is it! The little cabanas are over the water with a hammock and two adirondack chairs. The porch is a little narrow for a person trying to navigate around another person in the hammock but it works. The mattresses needed replacing but other than that we have no complaints. You couldn't ask for a nicer staff. The food was good and we found there to be more than enough. We were supposed to stay for three days but had a terrible front come through with tons of wind so bailed after the first night; other than snorkling there isn't anything else to do. We do plan on going back- its location right on the reef is tough to beat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tobacco Caye Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobacco Caye Paradise

Address: Tobacco Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Tobacco Caye
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tobacco Caye
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tobacco Caye Paradise Hotel Tobacco Caye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Caye Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.