We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Caye Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobacco Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tobacco Caye Paradise
Save
You added Tobacco Caye Paradise to your Saves list
Tobacco Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is the cheapest place on the Caye to stay ($40USpp for a Cabana, including meals). The cabanas have a private bathroom and a little deck over the water (hammock included :) The food is good, for example, eggs and pancakes for breakfast, pizza & pineapple for lunch, fish/ chicken (all homemade) etc for dinner - the portions are not massive but sufficient, perhaps bring snacks as there isn't anywhere to buy food on the island. The staff are friendly and helpful. You can take snorkelling & diving trips out from the Caye if you fancy it, but the snorkelling right off the Caye is brilliant - we saw rays (Eagle, Southern Sting-ray and Spotted Sting-ray) and loads of reef fish.
The Caye is the perfect place to chill-out and snorkel for a few days :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We were looking for a real vacation feeling, this one is kind of like a summer camp, there is a dining hall, meals are served on time and it is a place where the only thing to do is relax. We loved our little cabin over the water - and the meals were the best in Belize - really! It is a super value vacation, we wish we'd stayed a bit longer but they were booked. The staff is friendly and helpful, the only thing we wish was for a slightly more comfortable bed - and a reading light...it is bare bones, minimal, and not for luxury-seekers! However nothing compares to lounging in a hammock that is hanging right over the Caribbean with waves breaking on the reef just a few feet away...and the snorkeling right off the beach is excellent. We would return here, and then imagine head down to Glover's for even more wilderness.

Room Tip: We liked bungalow number 4 - it's got a good breeze, is very private and just right!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were late booking, so the first night my friend and I stayed in a room in the house they have set back from the beach, but after that we got a lovely cabana right over the sea - it was simple but comfortable. They accommodated my pescatarian needs admirably, and the meals are simple but delicious. Tobacco Caye is a tiny but beautiful and friendly island, and Tobacco Caye Paradise is a great option - we chose it because it was the cheapest, but it didn't let us down.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Tabacco Caye Paradise is the place to stay if you are going to the island! It is really basic, but very clean. The decks over the water are what make this place the best to stay on the island. The water is so clear and you can see rays and fish right off your deck.
Alvin, the manager was so helpful! He likes it if you call him by his middle name, so be sure to ask him what that is.:)
The food was great and there is always plenty of it! We went lobster "fishing" w/ George and Alvin cleaned the lobster and cooked it up for us w/in 30 mins of getting back to shore. George is a must for snorkling or lobster fishing. Also, AC is great!!! He will take you snorkeling or fishing...basically he will take you to do whatever you want and for really cheap! AC's family is so nice too!
Tobacco Caye is such a neat experience! We loved every minute of it and it even rained one whole day! Thanks everyone for making our stay such a great one!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The cabanas are amazing! Big, clean and the best view you can imagine! There's a hammock on your own porch, so you actually lie above the water with all the spectacular fish!
Food is served 3 times a day (although all a bit early) and it really is delicious! The rest of the day is just for snorkeling and relaxing!
The only not so great thing is that there are cockroaches living in the palm trees and they 'fly' thru the roof into the cabanas..
When the weather is not so good, the water can be quite rough and the boat ride to the island is horrible, but still worth it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Beautiful and peaceful island = perfect for relaxing and slowing the pace to enjoy island life, The snorkling is good and I enjoyed trying diving for the first time - very cool experience. The people on the island were very friendly and the food was great. I would happily go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed at the Tobacco Caye Paradise for a couple of nights. Tobacco Caye is a tiny little island out by the reef. Almost all of the cayes in Belize have expensive resorts on them, which offer all inclusive package type deals. Tobacco Caye is one of the very few affordable and accessible islands. I really had a great time here.

The cabins are pretty basic, but it was fine for us. They do go over the water. There is a small balcony with a hammock and chair. So you can sit there to enjoy the heavenly scenery. The side of the island where Tobacco Caye Paradise is located is indeed a bit windy at times, as other reviewers mentioned. But there are advantages to that. It keeps the area and the room a bit cooler than the other side, which was very welcome when I stayed. It also prevents mosquito and other flying buggers from sticking around.

The owner sisters were very friendly and had smiles all around. I thought the food was pretty good and there was plenty of it. Overall I thought this place was a good value compared to other places I've been to in Belize. Especially given the idyllic setting.

I've read some bad reviews about other lodges on the island. I think it's a problem of expectations. Some people expect the standards and luxury you get from expensive resorts, and are disappointed when they are faced with the basic accommodations on Tobacco Caye. This place is definitely not high end and there are a few people who prefer it that way.

One word of warning (not related to the hotel). If you are planning to do scuba diving, plan to do it elsewhere. There is one person on Tobacco Caye that runs the little scuba operation, Eric, and he's unprofessional, irresponsible, and unpleasant.

Tobacco Caye Paradise ended up being one of my favorite stays in Belize.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tobacco Caye Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobacco Caye Paradise

Address: Tobacco Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Tobacco Caye
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tobacco Caye
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tobacco Caye Paradise Hotel Tobacco Caye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Caye Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.