We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Management. Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reef's End Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobacco Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reef's End Lodge
Save
You added Reef's End Lodge to your Saves list
Dangriga, Stann Creek, Tobacco Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Belize Cayes, Belize
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“New Management. Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The new owner of Reef's End, Pär, is making major renovations, so this place is getting better every day. The location is spectacular with over-the-water restaurant and bar offering both sunrise and sunset views. We have not stayed in the rooms yet, but Reef's End is a great place to hang out any time. The food is excellent and the staff are friendly.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time in this place thanks to Par, the new swedish owner. They are renovating the place and have a wonderful team working with them, including his own son and friends. The meals are simply amazing, they fish in the morning and cook the best they catched (conk shell stew, lobster... Yes, lobster!!!). It is located in the best part of the island to do snorkeling and you can see sting rays, moreys and many kind of sea life without taking a boat. The owner has a boat and have us a couple of free rides nearby to do snorkeling. These people really want to make your stay wonderful and both my girlfriend and I are really thankful. They want to change the reputation of the place and they are on the right path.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This place just got new owners, a nice couple from Sweden - really service minded and with great ambitions for this place. When we were there they were just in the middle of renovating the basic stuff like the water tanks and going over the structures of the buildings. (You can tell the previous owners didn't really look after the place like they should have.) But the rooms were nice - simple, clean, bug-free and comfortable beds and they have their mind set on making this place tip top for the upcoming season.

The location of this place couldn't be better! Situated right on the southern tip of beautiful Tobacco Caye you can access the reef in no time by just putting on your snorkeling gear and swim out from the pier by the restaurant. And the reef that stretches for miles has an opening right south of Tobacco Caye, making it ideal for snorkeling outside of the reef as well. The restaurant and bar is built on top of the water and sting rays swam by every day! From the resturant you get the islands best view of the sunset.

The people working at Reef´s End are really friendly and experienced - we did some great snorkeling at locations nearby. The dive-master even spotted a manatee on our way home one day and we got to swim with it. The food was really tasty, lots of fish and seafood with Caribbean flavors just as it should be at a place like this.

Today, this place still needs a lot of love but it works just fine keeping in mind this is not a five star resort. The conditions here are perfect and we really hope that these new owners will make the most out of this little paradise. We were really happy with our stay!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place is in the process of being sold and you can tell that no one has really cared about it for a while. We met the owner and unfortunately he has suffered a series of bereavements recently so is moving on. I am glad we stayed. We are not fussy people but I think if you did you would have lots of complaints.

Pros: amazing location, best snorkelling on the island straight of the jetty, some friendly staff, clean room, great views, loved seeing rays float past as we sunbathed. Decent food, you will never go hungry. Very relaxed and flexible attitude to us leaving late afternoon - arranged special transport at no extra cost. Comfortable bed.
Breezy room with no bugs, lovely manager guy on mainland called saint malo.

Cons: rooms are very basic and tired - whole place has had its day and is crying out for maintenance. Needs someone to take on as a project and turn it into something special. Cook/serving person is sullen and unfriendly. An American guy and his daughter bought us a round of drinks and left the next day. When we left the drinks from the whole night were on our bill so we were forced to pay. Not a big deal but the explanation given was that the guy told the lady that we were buying all the drinks all night. No one ever says this so clearly a silly misunderstanding. I expect that since the place got run down staff have been cut back and someone who was once a cook has turned into the person who has to deal with customers too and she is just not a natural.

We actually loved our stay. We loved the location and snorkelling. If you want this and are fine with lacklustre service and very basic rooms you will be fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed in a worn cabana right on the sea. The view was astounding and the room was large. Amazing Caribbean food included in the price, with a lot of fresh fish and shellfish. Overall, I would have given it a 4, but for the following: on arrival, we reported the fact that the floor of the cabana was really quite dirty (dirty, not just sandy). We were lately told that someone was apparently sent to clean it, but we were out and the cleaner couldn't get in. I'm not experienced in leaving my room unlocked in case of cleaners. So, we asked again. And one more time. Then I literally cleaned the floor myself on my hands and knees. Another first for me. Years of grime came off, along with some dark smears. It looked pretty cool afterwards, I did a good job, I would like to think. But it only took 10 minutes. Then the water ran out and we were informed in a way that seemed intended to blame guests for using too much water. No one else had run out of water on the island, however. Then the drinking water ran out. Again, no such problems elsewhere on the island. Again, this information was reported without any kind of apology and a note of irritation. I wouldn't have minded so much, but it's actually quite expensive by local standards, working out at £100 a night for full board for two people sharing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Reef's End Lodge for the second time in March 2014. Our first trip in April 2012 was wonderful and we loved it.
That's why we booked for 10 nights in 2014. However, we found conditions much changed. On our arrival, the dive master appeared to also be the manager. Rooms were Spartan with beds only (3 beds per room filled it). We were fortunate when the toilet flushed and the electricity is only on at night, erratically. Sewer smells on a number of nights! No change of bed sheets for ten (10) nights!! The meals provided were: eggs for breakfast, conch and barracuda for lunch and dinner. Fruit and vegetables were rare. The lagoon where we snorkeled in 2012 was silted up and one had to go further out to see any fish which were not as plentiful as in 2012. The ladder to the sea broke during our stay and was not fixed by the time we left. The small bar/restaurant which served the Hotel was out of beer and water one day. Locals say there are no sand flies! Don't believe it! I came home with my legs full of bites! Something that has continued from 2012 to 2014: the locals see you as ripe for the take; money not service is the primary motive. Nature, though, attempts to persist: the location is wonderful and sting rays are plentiful!
After having traveled to all locations is Belize for the last ten (10) years, we will not travel to Belize again. This destination has become overpriced and below standard even for the backpacker types. With Belize's growing popularity, prices have risen and quality has declined.

Room Tip: The most breezy room is #4 above. Do NOT pay in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here for three nights during Spring Break. A friend had recommended Reefs End to us but we will not be recommending it to our friends. We booked this location for the ideal SCUBA opportunities and shared with all of the staff our excitement to get out onto the reef. Unfortunately, we sat the entire first day and until after lunch the second day waiting to have a dive boat that could take us out. Once in the water, Carlos did a great job of making our diving experience memorable. We were shocked at the age of the BCD's and in fact, had difficulty with one of them but they did give us a different one for our second dive. There seemed to be a huge amount of non-communication between the island staff and Saint Malo when ever he wasn't on the island, in our case that was 2 out of the 3 days. This was the third resort that we stayed at in Belize on this trip and was surprised to find only two double beds in the room, no night stand or chair to put stuff on. I was deeply saddened to see the amount of trash on the island and in the immediate ocean when snorkeling and wish a greater effort would have been applied to pick up the litter and respect the beautiful island they call home. The food was uneventful, no towels in our room but the island staff worked hard. When on the island, we researched leaving prematurely and finding a dive shop and a resort that valued our time and money. In reflection, I feel it is a management issue and will not return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef's End Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef's End Lodge

Address: Dangriga, Stann Creek, Tobacco Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Tobacco Caye
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tobacco Caye
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef's End Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.