We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, a few suggestions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio

Save Saved
You added Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   | P.O. Box 1188-1007, San Rafael de Escazu 1188-1007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great stay, a few suggestions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I spent a week at this property in June of 2014. It's worthy of a five star review, but I have a couple of small suggestions for the owners.

The property is in a great location in Escazu. If you're an American visiting San Jose for the first time, I'd recommend this area if you want to feel as close to home as possible. The property sits behind a manned gate, but the area is very safe and you would feel comfortable walking around at night, or at least we did. We had a car & had a choice of dozens of restaurants within a 5 minute drive (unless there's traffic, then 5 = 15).

We had a two bedroom apartment, it's nicely furnished with everything you need. It's not the most quiet location, it's on a street and there were sounds of dogs barking and some traffic, but it didn't bother us much.

The staff was very friendly, arranged a cab for me a couple of times when I didn't want to drive and the breakfast was very nice.

Just a few suggestions or things that you may want to know:

-the beds were as hard as anything I've ever slept on. We were in the handicap accessible room, so it may have been related to this, I am not sure.

-the fitness center has really, really old equipment, like army surplus old stuff. And I mean civil war era. It was a nice little room, but some new treadmills and dumbells would be a nice upgrade.

-my bedroom was lacking in electrical outlets, one was taken by the wi-fi and the other for a lamp, so I had to choose between my charger, my lamp or the alarm clock.

Nothing more than minor inconveniences, but just my $0.02.

Thanks for a great stay, I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
10
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great Breakfast
Huge Apartments for a single guy like me.

Nice secure environment.

Really helpful staff although language gets in the way sometimes :).

Away from hustle of the main san hose downtown, so you do need a travel mode to go to malls and business districts.

I will give it 4.5 stars

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor roms beside the Pool. Room 111 is where I stayed at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

we did last minute booking in spring break in April 2014,, glad we picked up right choice..
rooms are good,, clean ..breakfast t is great as well...pool is good and clean..
service of staff is fantastic... i recommend 4.5 star...

Room Tip: we stayed on 1st floor... elevotor some times saw out of order...we never had to use it but ..enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have stayed here 5 or 6 times. It is always clean and the staff is hard working. It is nice to have breakfast each morning. The swimming pool and hot tub are great. The airport shuttle takes a lot of stress off coming and going back to the states.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed here twice now. The rooms are large, especially the one bedroom suite. Breakfast is also provided. The is a washer and dryer available as well.A business office is also available for computer access. It is secure, clean and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. They arranged to have us picked up at the airport for no charge. The only downside is that it is on the main road through Escazu which means you get lots of noise from trucks, buses and the motorcycles. (Typical of Costa RIca). It is walking distance to some restaurants nearby and a shot cab ride to the mall or downtown Escazu.
We plan to return to Costa Rica again this summer and plan to stay there once again.
There are two pools, however we did not use them.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We've spent several weeks at this wonderfull hotel. The staff is very nice and friendly. Breakfast is more than sufficient and fresh. The place even includes a tiny supermarket for basic necessities.
Rooms are impeccable and very quiet.
A true value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We traveled with a large family - 6 in total and I booked on Expedia by chance so we could be in the same room. This was perfect for our 1 night on the way back to the states. We returned our car and took a cab back here because they have a shuttle to the airport. I had no idea this was a more upscale area....hotel is dated but immaculate and clean and has charm. Our room had a kitchen and 4 beds. We had leftover food from our 1 week vacation which was perfect to finish out in our kitchen. We walked to dinner and the restaurants around here are really nice. Would recommend!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio

Address: | P.O. Box 1188-1007, San Rafael de Escazu 1188-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find that at Villas del Ro, your stay will definitely feel a lot closer to home.The furnished apartments and fully equipped kitchens provide everything necessary to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable. With daily maid and laundry service, as well as a mini- market with a wide assortment of products.• Apartment-suites with one, two or three bedrooms• Cable TV, air conditioning, voice mail• Meeting room and a free 24 hour internet service• 2 swimming pools (1 heated), Jacuzzi and playground• Extensive gardens and designated pet areas• BarAt Villas del Río they take good care of the guest. The strict security measures and surveillance guarantee that your stay will be free of worries.• Spacious FREE private parking• 24 hours security• Electronic safe deposit boxesApartotel & Suites Villas del Río has an excellent strategic location for your next business or leisure trip. The elegant and ample apartments with all the modern amenities make you feel at home.• Friendly staff eager to help you 24 hours a day• Additional services and assistance upon request• Easy access to some of the most important shopping and entertainment centers, office buildings, restaurants and other services• Free shuttle service from and to the Airport (24 hours)The various lodging solutions, competitive rates as well as ideal facilities and outstanding services make Apartotel & Suites Villas del Ro one of your best choices in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel And Suites Villas Del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Hotel San Rafael De Escazu
Apartotel Hotel Del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;