We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beginning to my Costa Rican vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de las Tias

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa de las Tias to your Saves list
Casa de las Tias
Apdo 295-1200, San Rafael de Escazu 33102, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Package
cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect beginning to my Costa Rican vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

For my first visit to Costa Rica I asked friends for recommended B and B's and Casa de las Tias was a favorite. Now having stayed there for two nights it has become one of my all time favorites as well. Escazu is an easy drive from the airport and definitely worth seeing. The location is excellent, close to an active area, but down a side street and quiet. My room with a balcony in this beautifully decorated home was lovely. Xavier and Pilar are warm and gracious hosts who can help with planning and just about anything else. Full and delicious breakfast served in the patio looking at the garden was excellent. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    28
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
109
33
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, MA,USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Casade las Tias is a hidden gem of a B and B. Its owners are more than welcoming and accommodating. We followed the recommendatoin of a friend and found them and the house very charming. If you want to be in the suburbs of San Jose this place is near the bus line and shopping. You really feel at home here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Casa de las Tias is in the suburb of Escazu about a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport. Although close to shopping and restaurants, it is located along a driveway which gives it privacy and security. The house and gardens are beautiful and extremely comfortable. However the best thing about the visit were the owners who were delightful! They were friendly, helpful and made us feel as if we were in a family home - not a hotel. The included breakfast was created with care and was of an haute-cuisine standard. All for $90 (+ tax) for the two of us. It's a bit further from the airport than many other hotels, but in our opinion worth every extra minute in the taxi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Friends who have lived in Costa Rica for over 20 years referred us to Casa de las Tias. They use this when business assoc. visit, also. Each room has own bath. Very clean. Located in a clean suburb of San Jose (Escazu), it is convenient to the airport. Beautiful porch, yard with herb & vegetable garden, lovely hardwoods throughout the house. Decorated with artwork from all over Central America. WiFi equipped. Within walking distance of banks, an upscale mall, McDonalds (if that's what you want), and the owners recommended excellent local restaurants. We didn't bother with a car. Owners know several English-speaking cab and tour operators and are very kind about making all arrangements for you. Let them arrange for an airport pickup - it was effortless and fairly priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

After being warmly welcomed in English by Pilar and Xavier, we found our room to be spacious, clean, and charming. The other guests were from Germany, USA, Switzerland, and Costa Rica. Breakfast was great, with fresh fruit and delicious creations from their kitchen. They helped us find two wonderful restaurants within walking distance, and there are many more. Taxi into town for the museums was easy to arrange. We loved this place so much that we changed our plans to return for our last night in CR, and they helped arrange a driver for a stop at the Cafe Britt tour en route to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

"We loved your place and your hospitality, I've been showing pictures of it to all my friends (who are very envious)." I will stay there again when I go back to San Jose area. We met people who had been coming to stay there for 11 years.
Best regards,
Neil

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We needed a one night accommodation in San Jose before we embarked on our Costa Rican vacation. The house is lovely - a Victorian cottage feel with a welcoming front porch with wicker furniture overlooking a beautiful garden. Our hosts, Pilar and Xavier were very helpful in arranging taxis and a tour of the city. They also serve an excellent breakfast. We had an extra 2 nights at the end of our trip and, fortunately they were able to give us a room. It was one of our best experiences in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de las Tias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Tias

Address: Apdo 295-1200, San Rafael de Escazu 33102, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Tias is a sprawling Victorian-style house set on a 2,300m.Estate in the charming town of San Rafael de Escaza, just 10 minutes from San Jose. The airy cedar house is unique; each room decorated with original art from various Latin American countries, and featuring private bath and ceiling fan. Within a block, visitors can enjoy a wide choice of fine restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa de las Tias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Tias Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de las Tias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.