We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there once - don't know if I will go again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fogoncito

Fogoncito
Rohrmoser Boulevard, San Jose, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 346 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Been there once - don't know if I will go again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My friend was raving about Fogoncito - been there once with her and not sure that food justifies the price. Not my kind of place. Period.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“OK Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I visited with my family because I love mexican food. I was somewhat disappointed in the food but at least the margaritas were good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican in San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice relaxing restaurant for Mexican fare. Good quesadillas and tacos al pastor which are hard to find in Costa Rica. Sports TVs in many areas for added entertainment value. Good service.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Its a good restaurant, but not the Mexican you expect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Good meat dishes and an excellent salad: ensalada Azteca.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for a midweek taco...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Great for a midweek taco before the cinema!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogoncito also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Fogoncito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogoncito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.