We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a new find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante La Cascada

Restaurante La Cascada
600 oeste, 25 norte del Puente Los Anonos | San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose 4667-1000 , Costa Rica
50622280906
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #30 of 285 restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
guanacaste
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a new find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The owner of our Bed and Breakfast recommended this restaurant to us because my husband wanted a "good steak" ! The meal was excellent ! The staff was helpful and courteous. We all had something different. Steak, chicken and seafood. It was all delicious and well prepared. Sure to go back here again sometime.!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    39
    30
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
costa rica
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always enjoy this restaurant. Very predictable in a good way. The service is good, the quality of meat is great, and its location is convenient to everything.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great steak and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This steakhouse has been around for decades, and has kept the same great quality and service. You cant go wrong with La Cascada. The food is great, steak always prepared perfect. Their philosophy seems to be "if it aint broken, dont fix it", and they have been ale to maintain the best steakhouse in Costa Rica this way.
I strongly recomend the baby beef and the "steak La Cascada". Its served with these amazing sweet plaintains that you just wont find anywhere else.
If they have it available, I strongly recommend also the heart of palm salad.
They also serve a few items that are not in the menu (like the "tortilla de queso"). Be sure to ask the waiters...
La Cascada is the safest bet in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I grew up going to this place for any important celebration. It's not what it used to be. Sad but true. The avocado salad is still good, other than that I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“THE BEST COSTA RICAN STEAK HOUSE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A big, tender piece of tenderloin with a baked potato, the best black beans ever and candied plantains is what you can expect. The food is excellent, the service as well, the ambiance could use a boost. If you go on Sunday, you will stand in line unless you have a reservation. When I have visitors, it is the first place I take them for dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Cascada also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante La Cascada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.