We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a new find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante La Cascada

Restaurante La Cascada
600 oeste, 25 norte del Puente Los Anonos | San Rafael de Escazu, San Jose 4667-1000, Costa Rica
+506 2228 0906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 348 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
guanacaste
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a new find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The owner of our Bed and Breakfast recommended this restaurant to us because my husband wanted a "good steak" ! The meal was excellent ! The staff was helpful and courteous. We all had something different. Steak, chicken and seafood. It was all delicious and well prepared. Sure to go back here again sometime.!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
costa rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always enjoy this restaurant. Very predictable in a good way. The service is good, the quality of meat is great, and its location is convenient to everything.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great steak and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This steakhouse has been around for decades, and has kept the same great quality and service. You cant go wrong with La Cascada. The food is great, steak always prepared perfect. Their philosophy seems to be "if it aint broken, dont fix it", and they have been ale to maintain the best steakhouse in Costa Rica this way.
I strongly recomend the baby beef and the "steak La Cascada". Its served with these amazing sweet plaintains that you just wont find anywhere else.
If they have it available, I strongly recommend also the heart of palm salad.
They also serve a few items that are not in the menu (like the "tortilla de queso"). Be sure to ask the waiters...
La Cascada is the safest bet in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I grew up going to this place for any important celebration. It's not what it used to be. Sad but true. The avocado salad is still good, other than that I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“THE BEST COSTA RICAN STEAK HOUSE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A big, tender piece of tenderloin with a baked potato, the best black beans ever and candied plantains is what you can expect. The food is excellent, the service as well, the ambiance could use a boost. If you go on Sunday, you will stand in line unless you have a reservation. When I have visitors, it is the first place I take them for dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Cascada also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante La Cascada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.