We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Esquina de Buenos Aires

La Esquina de Buenos Aires
Calle 11 Av corner 4, San Jose, Costa Rica
(506) 2223 1909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 315 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
alek3913
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I gave the restaurant 5 stars because the food was excellent, the service was fantastic, the wine was great, and I really enjoyed the evening before our flight back to the States the next morning. While I wouldn't rate it as one of the best meals I've had, we are already looking forward to going back next February.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    152
    39
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Not in a very pleasant neighborhood but great, warm and inviting interior. Very similar to great steak restaurants in Buenos Aires. My soup and seafood ravioli were served hot, plated beautifully and delicious.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best meat restaurant. Good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This restaurant is visited by local meat-eaters. This high quality restaurants deserves a visit if you like abundant portions of meat and good wine. The staff is helpful even though the place is very very busy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Argentinian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great restaurant with an Argentine feel for it. Our super friendly server was very helpful and offered up 1/2 size portions of 2 cuts of meat for our meal for the same price. It came with potatoes and a grilled tomato. I took him up on that offer and it was delicious. Followed it up with panqueque de Dulce de Leche, which was Excellent!

Prices were very reasonable for the quality you got.

Make a reservation. The restaurant filled up very quickly while we were there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dine in Buenos Aires while saving air tickets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Having myself traveled and dined many times in Buenos Aires, Argentina this place is the closest experience you will ever get to actually have a good "Bife de Chorizo" and Malbec in a energy loaded place without spending on air tickets to go there. Meat is close to perfect and ambiance is probably the best thing about this place, i.e. no boring scenes of sad couples sitting mute looking at their cell phones.... Here, everyone in good mood! Service is very good although sometimes a bit 'too close' to my personal taste. Price is very reasonable considering other steak houses. Just make sure you make reservations at least 24 hours in advance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina de Buenos Aires also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Esquina de Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina de Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.