We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Esquina de Buenos Aires

La Esquina de Buenos Aires
Calle 11 Av corner 4, San Jose, Costa Rica
(506) 2223 1909
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 285 restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San José
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of my favourites!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

In this place you can have excellent food and really nice attention. The combination between the music and decoration makes you feel in Argentina.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    313
    105
    27
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
1 review
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been to this restaurant twice now; it feels like a refuge in the sometimes overwhelming city. The food is absolutely fantastic, and our waiter Walter was absolutely wonderful - very kind and attentive. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I keep coming back .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

..... Because they remember my name, give me great and friendly service and do whatever it takes to please me.
I have had the chorizo Argentino, which was good but very filling. Also empanadas and they actually have a caprese empanada which fools you into thinking your eating a healthy salad only it's fried in fat. If you like sweetbreads, theirs is among the best I've ever had. I've also eaten a couple of different cuts of beef, all well prepared (I like mine Pittsburgh style - arrobatado- which is hard to pull off).
Tip: you can order half portions of almost anything. Also the house wines are less expensive and quite good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banff
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Was told to try this place by the local gringos at the poker table in San Jose. The price is very reasonable and the decor upbeat and hip for the area. The food presentation was very good the food was a little bland. But still very good

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Late Lunch- with great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Well worth the visit and even better I ws staying opposite the restaurant ...,extensive wine list and very good menu.... Majority focus on meats but good selections of pasta, has to be the one of the bestvifbnotvthe best restaurant in San Jose

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina de Buenos Aires also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Esquina de Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina de Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.