We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Esquina de Buenos Aires

La Esquina de Buenos Aires
Calle 11 Av corner 4, San Jose, Costa Rica
(506) 2223 1909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 345 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have been eaten at La Esquina de Buenos Aires twice and will be heading there again on my next trip in October. The Entraña and Vacio are incredible cuts of beef and when coupled with melon and prosciutto as an appetizer you will realize that you are truly tasting life. Enjoy it with the Norton Privada Cab.(Sauvignon-Malbec-Merlot) and you will be transported to Buenos Aires. It doesn't get any better than this! The service is wonderful especially if you get Walter to serve you. I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    201
    44
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat in CR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've been here several times, and it is one of the best restaurants around, hands down! Try the Argentinian empanadas, the churrasco and the drinks are perfectly prepared! One of the best steaks you will have in Costa Rica, and the place is beautifully decorated...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superior restaurant in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I had the good fortune of celebrating her birthday at the restaurant. A truly warm and inviting place with a wonderful menu. What made the evening unforgettable was the peerless service, headed by Walter; my personal choice for the next mayor of San Jose. If you have the opportunity, ease on down the road to a spot that feels like a home away from home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place to eat in downtown San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great steaks and seafood. The staff are all great and friendly and the food is exceptional. Best to make reservations as it is always busy, especially on weekends.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EXCELENT ARGENTINEAN RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

It is a special argentinean restaurant, with a nice environment. Excellent service and meats, just a little expensive, but I think it is because of imported meat. I really enjoy the deco....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina de Buenos Aires also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Esquina de Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina de Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.