We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olio

Olio
200m Norte de Bagelmans, Barrio Escalante, San Jose, Costa Rica
+506 281-0541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 355 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Tualatin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good food and atmosphere, attentive staff, some nice wines especially from Chile. I enjoyed the calimari.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    44
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I ended up in this restaurant while looking for another one we never found. A good thing, as Olio turned out to be a very cozy place with extremely good food. My husband was even more pleased with his meal than I was, even though I was more then happy enough! Everythimg tasted great and the service was effective and professional. It is located a bit out of the centre of town, but a quick taxiride away! I would recomend Olio any day!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“LOVED Everything About this Restaurant Other than Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

AMBIANCE: Excellent. The place has a very intimate, "authentic" kind of feel. The decorations are extensive, and it is, overall, very romantic.

FOOD: Excellent. The menu is highly varied. We ordered a couple of tapas to share and were very pleased with every item. The stuffed mushrooms appetizer and the Olio sampler stood out as the best items to us. All portions are large, so these are not like typical smaller tapas plates that you will get in Spain.

SERVICE: Very Good. The kitchen seemed to be operating a bit slowly, but the waiter was very polite and accommodating.

LOCATION: Terrible. A lot of people have already commented on the train going by, but it bears repeating. Even at nighttime when only one train might go by during your stay here it is VERY disturbing because the train has to honk its horn as loud as possible because there´s an intersection right outside. The whole thing really disrupts a nice dinner, and it´s for that reason that I can´t give Olio 5 stars, overall.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The little corner in Escalante”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

One small spot with great ambiance. Service tends to be slow because normally is very crowded (that means great things). Food is mostly tapas with a nice variety.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great place to be at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Even if you want to have a romantic dinner, or an encounter with some friends, this place is great. Food is delicious and service is nice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olio also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Olio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.