We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Olivo

L'Olivo
300m norte del ICE | Sabana Norte, San Jose, Costa Rica
2232 9440
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 345 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One of the best Italian restaurants I have been to in a long time! Skip the beef and eat the pasta or seafood. The Lasagna is to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“PASSABLE, BARELY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Many positive reviews for this place. My experience was barely average. I ordered a Caprese Salad and I git just that: 3 slices of tomatoes, 2 slices of mozzarella, 3 basil leaves. Nothing else. Perhaps they should rename Spartan Caprese Salad.
Group of 6, we arrived early and were the first and only to sit down for dinner. Still had to wait for the appetizers to clear before we got some bread (yes, quite good) and then 20 minutes to get our entrees. Meanwhile, the staff of 3 tripping over each other to do.... nothing to help.
Had been there some 2 years ago, for lunch, and I did not remember such a bad experience (else I would have vetoed the selection last night). this time, it was not memorable and not worth returning
Of course, there is a "service" charge. They need to change the name.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Marvelous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Undeniably the best italian restaurant in San Jose! Great selection of wines and the pasta always, al dente!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious restaurant with fabulous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

L'Olivo was recommended to us by an American we met at our Hotel bar in Irazu. He also suggested the waiter that we may have and how great he was, I can't remember his name but we had him and he brought us a free shot! The fish was amazing, and the pasta was good. The bread was extremely fresh; overall we had a great experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Nice Atmosphere. By My Third Visit, I Felt Like Family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

L'Olivo was recommended to me by a New Yorker, who paid it the supreme compliment: "Its as good as you'll get in Brooklyn." He wasn't far wrong. I ordered conservatively on my first visit and was sufficiently pleased so that I took a little more risk on the second. By the third time, it was flattering to be greeted by name, to have the bottle of S. Pellegrino brought along with the menu, and to be told "We have veal tonight." I responded by simply telling the server "I'm hungry. Surprise me." I was there for more than 2 hours and the meal was delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Olivo also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to L'Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Olivo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.