We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hates people from the USA” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mariscar
Calle 7, San Jose, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 297 restaurants in San Jose
Restaurant details
salt lake city, Utah, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hates people from the USA”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Horrible service; they either had a problem we were from the USA or some thing else but it was clear they didn't like us. Stay away.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

41% Recommend
    3
    2
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Its ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went there for a dinner one night. I ordered squid but they ran out of it. Food was ok. If you order - better get a casado than anything else on the menu. Music was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went there for a dinner one night. I ordered squid but they ran out of it. Food was ok. If you order - better get a casado than anything else on the menu. Music was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waller, Texas, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood & Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our food and service. We each had seafood and steaks, both with their chimichurri sauce which was delish!!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
738 reviews 738 reviews
577 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Sit by the balcony upstairs - OK food - Cheap drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

For $2 a beer and a great view of Calle 7, you can't beat it. The food is just so-so, but at least it looks like a place where more locals then tourists hang out (although there is a "tourist" menu).

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscar also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Mariscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariscar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.