We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu
Calle 32 | 150m norte del KFC, San Jose, Costa Rica
2222-7384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 355 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Machu Picchu is a hidden gem in San Jose - it is out of the "restaurant area" of central San Jose, down toward Sabana Park on 32nd calle, and just north a block from Central Avenue (at the corner with KFC and McDs). The atmosphere is great for all occasions from business conversations to family. The food quality is very good - and priced very well for the quality. The service and staff were oustanding - polite, prompt and eager to share about the food options. The sea bass and shrimp ceviche were both outstanding. The seafood was perfectly cooked and well presented; the steaks as one would expect. I didn't look closely at the wine list - but a broad array of options were present.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    61
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Seafood indeed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I'm not a seafood fan, but I enjoyed the shrimp and rice at Machu Picchu on my first night in San Jose'. The portion was much more than I could eat, and many others in our group seemed quite pleased with their choices. The service was good, and the price was hard to beat - about $14 with a glass of wine, as I recall. The restaurant was recommended by our tour guide and was within easy walking distance of our hotel, Tryp Sabana. Seafood lovers (and especially ceviche lovers) are in seventh heaven in Costa Rica in general. Since this was a Peruvian restaurant, I was hoping for some of the wonderful quinoa soup we enjoyed in Peru, but I guess I'll have to go back to Peru for that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Seafood galore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are craving delicious and tasty seafood this is always a good bet. Machu Pichu has a long tradition of cooking wonderful Peruvian recipes and their seafood is VERY well known in Costa Rica. Their seafood "a la parrilla" is one of the most amazing dishes. They also have their delicious "piqueos" which feature a combination of delicate seafood flavors. Their typical Peruvian drink chicha morada is refreshing and don't forget to try out the sinful desert: suspiro limeño.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always excellent service and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Typical restaurant for people from San Jose. The fish is always done to perfection and the ambience as well as the staff are always proffessional and courteous.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food, fun, out of the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Machu Picchu is out of the "restaurant area" of central San Jose, down toward Sabana Park on 32nd calle, north a block from Central Avenue (turn north at the KFC!) The food is very good and the service is better. Other reviewers rave about the sea bass ceviche, and they're right! We also had the avocado with shrimp and the mashed potatoes with spices --- all good. The Pisco Sour is good but rather sweet for us martini drinkers. I like this place. The decor is attractive and you feel away from the mainstream. Also, the bill was less than I expected.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machu Picchu also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Machu Picchu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.