We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Smart food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Grano de Oro

Restaurante Grano de Oro
Calle 30, Avenida 2 y 4 | #251, San Jose 1007, Costa Rica
506-2255-3322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 316 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Restaurant Grano de Oro merges Costa Rican tropical with European cuisine under the expertise of our French chef Francis Canal. Once a simple cafe, this restaurant has evolved into one of San Jose’s finest dining establishments, frequented by locals and tourists alike.Specialty cocktails, classically presented dishes and delicious desserts are served in the charming ambiance of a magnificent period home with an elegant inner courtyard. The bilingual wait staff provides professional and friendly service. Service is offered throughout the day from 7 am to 10 pm. Restaurant, patio and bar are non-smoking
LONDON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Smart food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Incredible service, formal meals well done and beautifully presented.
We have eaten there several times and the standard has always been the same, quality of food and service.
Plus, the drinks are superb

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    126
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“more than a "grano" de oro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

MAKE A RESERVATION, and ask for a table inside...but next to the courtyard.
This quaint gem, built in an old colonial mansion is a world class restaurant. The food gets a B+, which is an A++ for Costa Rica. The Service is flawless with warm charming respectful Costa Rica at it's most gracious. Good wine list, fish dishes are done very well. Dorado...aka Mahi mahi is rich and flavorful. The lomito is an easy win.
Book a room here. Its 30 minutes from the airport, but worth waking up 20 minutes extra instead of the marriot, hyatt, or wyndhamm

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Underwhelming and overpriced disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was so very disappointed with this restaurant. We went on our first night in San Jose’ following the reviews on tripadvisor.
The setting is certainly beautiful. The internal courtyard is very stunning, complete with trees, lanterns, a water feature and heaters. Very nicely laid out. If you do eat at Grano de Oro, I would recommend eating there – the inside just feels very stuffy. The kind of place that appeals to a certain kind of ostentatious clientele.
I ordered the seafood main which was one of the most expensve things on the menu – it was a colossal disappointment. Having arrived after a week in Manuel Antonio where we had been spoiled with all manners of tasty seafood dishes, this was just so so bland and to add insult to injury the squid was so spongy and chewy that it put me off ordering it again anywhere else for a good couple of weeks (for the records – I love squid)
What makes it all so bad is that this restaurant is so very espensive. Painfully so. We just had two mains, two cocktails, a glass of house wine and a small water and the bill was about $115!!
If you want to give it a try and experience the setting go for a cocktail (the cocktails are great) and sit at the bar on the side of the pretty courtyard but save yourself the experience of a meal. Underwhelming and definitely not worth the money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fairly priced with a nice assortment of meat and fish dishes. Wonderful wine list and great service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All is True”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just finished a wonderful meal, in a fantastic environment, with excellent service (thank you, Carlos Castro). My wife and I ordered different bass dishes. Each was very well prepared and presented. The ambiance is extraordinary from the gas lanterns, the open shutters, the plantings, the lighting. Truly extraordinary. Oooops, used the same word again. Sorry. Forgot themusic. Very much background, but just another small detail whicn adds to the experience and is hardly noticed. But don't forget the food. Well prepared, well seasoned. Yummy. Eat slowly and savor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Grano de Oro also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Grano de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Grano de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.