We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good asian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Jo

Tin Jo
Calle 11, Av. 6 y 8 Detras de la Iglesia La Soledad, 150 metros al sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
506 2221 7605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 315 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our mission is to serve delicious, healthy food in an environment that is conducive to sharing and caring. We believe that food should nourish us physically, emotionally and spiritually. Our dishes are inspired from Asian countries: China, Japan, India, Indonesia, Thailand. We have an extensive vegetarian and vegan menu as well as a gluten free menu. Our Asian themed rooms gather together all the art work we have collected as well as those created by closed friends and frequent diners. Tin Jo is our third child and we are very involved owners. We love to interact with you, our customers and it is our sincere wish that your visit to our restaurant satisfies not only your senses but also uplifts your spirit. With Gratitude,Maria Hon and Robert Faulstich
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nicely surprised. Food was good despite so far from Asia. We had a Pad Thai that was really close to the thing. At the end my kulfi was also not bad at all.
The menu is extensive, not a good sign nowadays in the best restaurant, but the choice is there.
Good deco, makes you feel in a little city street in Thailand.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    182
    66
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great asian food, from chinese, over thai and indian to vietnamese or japanese. Huge vegetarian or vegan choices. Everything is declared on the menu, whether it contains milk, eggs, fish sauce. Special gluten free menu. Wine recommendation for every dish. They try to use organic and local products where possible. Great service, the staff has been there for years, very well trained and very kind. We celebrate every special occasion here, whether it is a birthday, anniversary or anything special. Great value for money. Very nice decoration, every salon is decorated according to a special country, so you can find the japanese room, the indonesian room, the thai room, etc. I would fully recommend this restaurant. Everything is simply just right!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“"THE" ASIAN RESTAURANT OF COSTA RICA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

the tin jo is an old standard which never misses. it offers a varied asian menu, great service, sizeable portions, and affordable price all of which exceed one's expectations given the physical appearance of the neighborhood and the entrance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Severely overrated...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Definitely not Chinese, not Thai, not Vietnamese. They call it "Asian" fusion but I think they left any real Asian flavor somewhere else...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Asian restaurant I've found in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Tin Jo does Chinese, Japanese and Indian food wonderfully! I eat there every time I'm in San Jose, I love Chinese and Indian food and they never disappoint. And, the atmosphere is great too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Jo also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Tin Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Jo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.