We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lamb dishes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lubnan

Lubnan
Paseo Colon, frente a Torre Mercedes., San Jose, San Jose, San Jose, San Jose, Costa Rica
22576071
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 311 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Lamb dishes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

service was a bit slow (hence the 4 instead of a 5) BUT we did have a group of 10! The lamb dishes were wonderful, authenic, and huge! We received complomentary coffee and were able to get separate checks! There is a smoking area hidden in the back in a courtyard - no secondhand smoke! I liked the decor - the entrance through a revolving burlap door took me away for the city and into the world of the Mediteranian!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    43
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The food is legit. Classic lebanese dishes with a unique decor. Wednesday nights in the Bar boasts the longest running electronic Dance night (house) in the country. DJ Sweet-Bo (France) has been killing it there with special guests for 10 years. Good eats smooth beats and great people watching if you go early enough and get a seat in the Bar.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Lubnan is one of the most amazing restaurant ever, in the moment you taste the food, you "travel" over the seas, amazin experince. and the coffee is really good!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“decent food and service, terrible decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

despite the fact that the place is decorated like the inside of a bordello, the service was good and the food very tasty - especially the falafel and the hummus.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Left without eating!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I went there during the lunch time. They had a lunch offer, It was a combo meal which brings soup + humus + main dish plus a drink. I waited 20 minutes, I only got a drink of fruit juice, they did not bring the side orders in the meantime. I asked the waitress about my orders. She did not get back to me. I decided to go to cashier and talk to the person in charge of the restaurant. He did not even asked me what happened because he knew that I was going to complaint about their terrible service. He showed me an unconcerned face, he let me go without saying me a simple apology.

Extremely unsatisfied because I am in the tourism business and we recommend this place to our guests. With this terrible quality minded customer service, we would not recommend any more.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lubnan also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Lubnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lubnan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.