We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget B&B with Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa 69

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa 69 to your Saves list
Casa 69
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   69 calle 25bis | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Rate/Upgrade - here
Ranked #6 of 55 San Jose B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Budget B&B with Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I like this place. It is not fancy. The junior queen room isn't big but it is well-decorated. The common area, living room and dining areas are very nice. The price is very reasonable too.

The hotel is situated near pubs so the street could be busy and noisy on weekends. However once you are inside the property, you won’t hear a thing. Certain areas in the neighborhood can appear a bit rough but we didn’t feel too uncomfortable. Just exercise normal caution as you would be when traveling.

Free breakfast has bread, fruits, juices, and coffee but you can order additional cooked breakfast for a very reasonable price.

WiFi only works on the main building. If you live at the other building across the street, you can’t get WiFi there.

People who stayed here are singles, couples, young and young-at-heart. They are decent and quiet. Although we stayed for just a night, we enjoyed this place and would recommend to anyone who is into budget travel with class.

Just a note – If you are driving, you may need to find this place using the coordinate on your GPS. We were not able to find it by the hotel name on our Garmin. We booked with booking.com and it had coordinate points listed on the confirmation and that saved our day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    102
    27
    13
    12
See reviews for
44
211
83
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

location,location,location! Walking distance to downtown...close to restaurants and attractions...The staff was awesome...knowledgeable and friendly. Clean rooms and great continental breakfast. We met many friendly and interesting people during our stay...people that will be our new forever-friends. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to CR!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed there 1 night and we will never come back.
The room smells like mildew and is not maintain properly, (door knobs are not connected well, bath curtain is in bad shape.... )
The only thing you can eat in breakfast is bread with jam or batter (if you want an omelette you need to pay extra). We couldn't use the internet because the night shift receptionist was using the single computer all night long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent! and dog friendly too, although I only say one dog there and all he did was sleep in the courtyard in the shade. I think he visits every month or so, I met at least 6 people during my week there who are regular guests. I will head straight there on my next trip to Costa Rica.
Simply Lovely

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

What more can I say than great and helpful staff, nice clean rooms and a very convenient location, a short walk from downtown and San Pedro Mall.

Somewhere I would definitely reccommend for all types of people. And somewhere I would make my first port of call when I next return to San Jose.

A great mix of interesting people stay here, tourists and Costa Ricans.

And the view from the rooftop terrace, whether it be night or day is astonishing.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It was very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Casa 69 is conveniently located and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a small rooftop area with a nice view of the city. However, Casa 69 would be much nicer if it were cleaner!!. During my stay there were 3 cats and 3 dogs roaming around the hotel, all of which needed a good bath!! There was pet dander everywhere and the common area had a strong pet smell. Also, the bath towels should be replaced; if you decide to stay here, bring your own towels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback from our guests.
You arrived Sept 5th having booked and paid for two of our smallest rooms. Upon arrival, you were given a free upgrade on both rooms.
I arrived on the evening of the 7th with the dogs. There was no mention of cleanliness or the towels issue prior to that, and on Monday morning you approached me saying you wished to leave as you were disgusted with the dogs.
I made reservations at a very nice hotel nearby and provided directions.
Shortly after you left, we called the other hotel to ensure that everything was satisfactory. They informed us you had never arrived and had already phoned them and cancelled the room as you were staying with friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Cute property and rooms, fresh and light complimentary breakfast every morning, and convenient walking distance to museums, cafes, and bars. And got 10% off at the italian cafe up the street bc we stayed here. It was a wonderful place to start and end our holiday in CR! Plus free luggage storage while we explored the country... So convenient. Thanks for everything Casa 69 we will be back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 69

Address: 69 calle 25bis | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 69 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic house built by one of San Jose's most prominent families in 1938 is now a B&B. Let this beautiful old house be your home away from home in San Jose. Located just four blocks east of the National Museum, Barrio California, just 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Enjoy our rooftop view deck and garden. You can walk to all museums and places of interest like National Theater, Jade Museum, Plaza de la Cultura, Simon Bolivar Zoo as well as many very good restaurants, bars of all kinds and casinos in minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa 69 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 69 Hotel San Jose
Casa 69 Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa 69, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.