We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gioconda House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Gioconda House Hotel
Save
You added La Gioconda House Hotel to your Saves list
Avenida Central - Calle 25 | Barrio La California, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 56 San Jose B&B and Inns
pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Myself and some friends landed in San Jose on our way to Nuevo Arenal and decided to spend two nights in the capital. Mainly, we wanted to go east to the Orosi Valley to look up Casa del Sonador. Macendinio Quesada's son's Miguel and Hermes continue the family tradition of carvings made from native coffee plants. Well worth the side trip. Anyway, we found the proprietors and staff very accommodating, the rooms were very comfortable and you can upgrade your bed and breakfast meal in their cafe and it is well worth it. In the cities, you should leave your vehicle in attended lots and La Gioconda has an arrangement with a local attended lot for a reduced price. Just be sure to always have the voucher from the Inn, otherwise they charge you full price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
47
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rico, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent two delightful nights at La Giaconda. The owners made us feel like friends and family. The service was excellent--beyond our expectations. The location is perfect and the room was comfortable. We will be back. Chao!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We left wishing we had another week to spend in this most magical place. It truly is a place to come back to again and again. You can tell it is loved by the employees, as much as the owners Antonella and Vicente. The rooms are quaint, but the service is over the top. We felt like we are being treated like family. The restaurant was so tasty, we couldn't go anywhere else! The best treat was their dog and cat, Shila and Berta. We hated to leave!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here two nights with my wife. Stayed in the first floor Vacanze Romane room which is adorned with pictures and posters from the Gregory Peck film. The room itself is nice although not very quiet in the morning. There is a lot of street noise outside your windows such as those waiting in line at the Embassy for Nicaragua. The adjacent private bathroom is also nice with an interesting shower that looks like it could be a time travel capsule complete with a working radio. I must admit it did take us awhile to get used to the idea of not being able to flush ANY toilet paper down the toilet. This is not something we had to deal with elsewhere in CR. The attached cafe (Da Vinci) is actually really nice although a little expensive. I would suggest eating lunch there. They do provide you a free continental breakfast and you can purchase other breakfast items with it if you would like. The staff was helpful in trying to make calls to get reservations arranged for activities. The other nice thing about this hotel is the location. You are only a few minutes walk from the Mercado de Artesanias (around Avenida Central and Calle 15) which is a great place to get your souvenirs. It is not a far walk to other things such as the museums also. I think our only negative experience of our stay there was that we went out for dinner one night and when we came back to the hotel at around 10PM, the place was locked up with no way to get in. We had to go to the Pizza Hut behind the hotel to call the staff to let us in (our cell phones were not working for some reason). We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is a charm. I felt right away at home, Daniel and Gabriela helped me with all my tours, reservations and taxis. The Gioconda is perfect located near down town and is safe to walk during the day. It is also surronded with Restaurants but who will like to dine outsite when Vincezo and Antonella will take care of you. I cannot forget the breakfast buffets and simply everything they cook is yummy. They are a lovely couple and will make sure you will have the best time in their hotel. Hola Daniela and Gabriel, my warm regards to Antonella and Vincenzo from Canada. One more tip call them directly and book your room.

Room Tip: The front rooms are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great food at Da Vinci's restaurant, great place, trust me! The area is excellent is walking distance from everywhere, costa rica is such a great pla ce for vacationing, I have neen down there several times and we love it , La Gioconda is on an old remodeled house that it has it's charm, but the best part is the food, if you enjoy natural italian food this is your place, get the carbonara is the best we have tried!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

La Gioconda hotel was full of charm. The owners and the staff were very accomodating. There was an on site cafe that had a great cosmopolitan vibe. We... booked a tour through the hotel to Volcan Irizu and enjoyed the adventure. It was great to be able to get a massage on the premise (Thanks again!). We stayed there four nights and the location was convenient for exploring downtown San Jose and the area. Our quarters was in need of a coat of paint but it had a very comfortable bed and layout. The cab to the airport ran $30 but I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who would be in the downtown area for several days. by a Hotels.com guest on 09/11/12

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gioconda House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gioconda House Hotel

Address: Avenida Central - Calle 25 | Barrio La California, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel, with large and confortable rooms. Wi-fi, TV, phone, private bathroom, orthopedic mattresses.Cafeteria and restaurant Da Vinci with italian cuisine.We are near the new Hospital La California, ideal place for health tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Gioconda House Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gioconda House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.