We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colonial to your Saves list
Hotel Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Detrás Iglesia La Soledad, San Jose 4673-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location, average rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here on a couple of occasions recently. It's in a good location and was in walking distance of most major city attractions. The restaurant across the road is superb!

One stay we had a room on the 2nd floor which was adequate. On the second occasion we were on the ground floor in a rather damp and musty room. We asked to be moved but were told this was impossible.

Overall it was okay, but don't expect anything too ritzy!

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room - ask for 2nd floor - the room we had there was much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
13
34
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location is great and the price is inexpensive. Convenient short walking distance to China Town, National Theater, National Museum (with Butterfly Garden), Gold Museum - all of which are worth seeing. Good restaurants nearby are Tin Jo's (Pan Asian), and El Patio although hotel staff were not knowledgeable about local restaurants. Argentinian restaurant across the street smells great, but they sneered at us when we tried to get in without a reservation made days earlier. Once you learn the trick of crossing Ave. 11 and going down the alley between La Iglesia Soledad and the Argentinian place to get to the pedestrian walkway behind and using that to go north to Avenida Centrale, it is easy to walk everywhere safely and quickly. Ave. Centr. is a pedestrian walkway/outdoor mall and if you want to see how Costa Ricans live, at least in San Jose, just walk along there. BTW it will save you from getting lost if you realize that odd # streets (calles) are east of Calle Centrale and even # calles are west and odd # avenidas are north of Ave. Centr. and even # aves. are south.
The hotel has beautiful architecture with an internal courtyard with tiled pool that is lovely to sit around for the complimentary breakfast - not lavish but very Costa Rican. It is pretty noisy in the morning on weekdays during rush hour, near main bus and taxi routes. It is an easy walk to the Tracopa bus terminal if you come into town on the bus. Rooms are a little small but we found the ventilation fine when we opened the transoms over the windows. It is in the central highlands and even though it was July it didn't seem hot until I came back from the Pacific Coast with Dengue fever, but that is another story.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I enjoy my stay in the hotel. The hotel is located in a relatively safe and convenient location of san jose.... I can walk to the national theatre and china town in five minutes.

However, one bad thing is the ventilation is not good enough in the room as it is not air-conditioned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a two nights stay at Hotel Colonial in San José before we started our roundtrip. Hotel Colonial is really a very nice small hotel in the colonial style, located in downtown San José, Best location if you want to have a quick visit of the city center, or the Gold Museum (which is really worth a visit). Breakfast is included and ok. Hotel Colonial also has a small pool. We liked it very much - ideal for a short visit of San José.

Room Tip: Ground level room in the middle was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we are doing our best effort to improve our services, and your review show us that we are in the right path, and we still have things to work out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Unfortunately, I have very little positive to say about this hotel apart from its convenient location. Of the four members of staff that I interacted with, only one seemed to be really nice and willing to help (possibly the manager), while I had the impression that I was more of a nuisance than a guest to the other three. I did not feel welcome, and they hardly ever smiled; not even the loud TV at night seemed to be able to cheer them up. Which brings me to what bothered me most about this hotel: I was put in a single room which was more or less above the reception. So I was able to hear the TV all night long. Also, I was notified of each guest entering the gate by the pretty loud doorbell that announced his/her coming. On one day, maid service just didn't show up to swipe through my room. As far as breakfast is concerned, don't expect too much: it's rather mediocre, and do go early because the pieces of butter that are cut up waiting for you are lying around there uncovered, presumably all morning. What's more, please be advised that at certain times of the day, the "hot water" in the shower is not really hot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

we just stayed one night, thankfully. unhelpful staff, slow to open locked outside doors. minimally helpful with transportation. beds and bathrooms were fine. hotel itself is very pretty. pool was freezing. floors outside the rooms were filthy. kids walked downstairs and up again without shoes and bottoms of their feet were black. central location, very little kids friendly eating places around. don´t expect much. a good place to just spend the night before a flight out, not a home base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights there. The first night we got there the clerck gave us the low floor room which was average, didn't have AC but the room was clean. We had a private parking for our ace. The second day there was another guy with dread locks which was just unpleasant and rude.he didn't help at all and barely took attention to us. We asked to move to another room after we sensed terrible smell coming from our room (perhaps it was economics) the girl gave us the up level room that was much better and had AC and costs the same. Breakfast was very poor. The hotel is in downtown , close to main attractions such as the national theatre. There's a great restaurant across the street.




  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Detrás Iglesia La Soledad, San Jose 4673-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Jose
Hotel Colonial Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.