We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Colonial - The perfect hotel in town San José” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colonial to your Saves list
Hotel Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Behind La Soledad Cathedral, San Jose 10106, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in San Jose
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Hotel Colonial - The perfect hotel in town San José”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a two nights stay at Hotel Colonial in San José before we started our roundtrip. Hotel Colonial is really a very nice small hotel in the colonial style, located in downtown San José, Best location if you want to have a quick visit of the city center, or the Gold Museum (which is really worth a visit). Breakfast is included and ok. Hotel Colonial also has a small pool. We liked it very much - ideal for a short visit of San José.

Room Tip: Ground level room in the middle was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we are doing our best effort to improve our services, and your review show us that we are in the right path, and we still have things to work out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    35
    16
    6
See reviews for
16
36
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Unfortunately, I have very little positive to say about this hotel apart from its convenient location. Of the four members of staff that I interacted with, only one seemed to be really nice and willing to help (possibly the manager), while I had the impression that I was more of a nuisance than a guest to the other three. I did not feel welcome, and they hardly ever smiled; not even the loud TV at night seemed to be able to cheer them up. Which brings me to what bothered me most about this hotel: I was put in a single room which was more or less above the reception. So I was able to hear the TV all night long. Also, I was notified of each guest entering the gate by the pretty loud doorbell that announced his/her coming. On one day, maid service just didn't show up to swipe through my room. As far as breakfast is concerned, don't expect too much: it's rather mediocre, and do go early because the pieces of butter that are cut up waiting for you are lying around there uncovered, presumably all morning. What's more, please be advised that at certain times of the day, the "hot water" in the shower is not really hot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

we just stayed one night, thankfully. unhelpful staff, slow to open locked outside doors. minimally helpful with transportation. beds and bathrooms were fine. hotel itself is very pretty. pool was freezing. floors outside the rooms were filthy. kids walked downstairs and up again without shoes and bottoms of their feet were black. central location, very little kids friendly eating places around. don´t expect much. a good place to just spend the night before a flight out, not a home base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights there. The first night we got there the clerck gave us the low floor room which was average, didn't have AC but the room was clean. We had a private parking for our ace. The second day there was another guy with dread locks which was just unpleasant and rude.he didn't help at all and barely took attention to us. We asked to move to another room after we sensed terrible smell coming from our room (perhaps it was economics) the girl gave us the up level room that was much better and had AC and costs the same. Breakfast was very poor. The hotel is in downtown , close to main attractions such as the national theatre. There's a great restaurant across the street.




  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Rooms weren't a bad size with 2 small double beds. Our shower to the upper floor was very slow, but the kids faired better in this on the ground floor. Limited breakfast of rice and beans + scrambled egg, help yourself and very limited space to sit. Only stayed one night as part of a tour, arrived late and left early so can't comment of the surrounding area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

it is a basic hotel, stayed here for 3 nights with a tour splitting the nights so had two different rooms. pool looks nice, not huge. rooms are clean but basic, dont come here expecting flat screen tvs or ones that work. breakfast is fine, stuck to the fruit and toast (toasters only did one side)but there were scrambled eggs and rice and beans. Area is ok for downtown san jose, great restaurants across the road and nearby. I think it might be 10 dollars per night dearer than it should be. Had the front room on 3rd floor first time and there was a bit of street noise (sat night) so if you are a light sleeper, try to get the back. had the 2nd floor equivalent the 2nd time but there is no window so it was quieter, but it was darker too. Overall, if you are on a budget and looking to stay in a safe hotel, its ok, dont expect any frills

Room Tip: rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Little to recommend this place. Shabby, basic, expensive for what it is, location is ugly. Feels more like a hotel, but not hostel prices. Room was clean, but really shabby. All expense spared.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Behind La Soledad Cathedral, San Jose 10106, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Jose
Hotel Colonial Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.