We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrival in Costa Rica” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Save Saved
You added Hotel Colonial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Detrás Iglesia La Soledad, San Jose 4673-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Arrival in Costa Rica”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

Colonial is a nice hotel without pretention. The rooms are not very spacious, but clean. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is ok (at least if you like rice and beans ;)! Nice swimmingpool.
William, Senta and baby Ella from Belgium

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
12
30
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We thought clean basic rooms but ended up wit about 100 bug-bites! The staff is friendly and helpfull but please do something about the bugs!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 15 days. When I read the reviews I was very surprised...it is a nice hotel, clean and has a good location. They no longer charge for the use of the computer with internet. The tv in our rooms worked fine and had several english channels. The staff was professional. The only complaint I will make is that for the 15 days we were there, they served us the SAME breakfast every single day: rice and beans, eggs, toast and coffee. It got old after the third day. Anyway, I would recommend the hotel to people!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for the first two nights of our vacation to Costa Rica. With four people, the room was about a hundred US dollars, which seemed a little steep. On the plus side, the room was decently clean, had working hot water and cable TV, and was in a great location, within walking distance of many of San Jose's attractions. They also served a very nice breakfast and picked us up from the airport at no extra charge. However, the location, while convenient, was quite noisy. We were misled to believe that there was air conditioning in our room; it was a rather unpleasant surprise when we found that not only did it lack air conditioning, but the windows didn't open, either. There was no maid service - which meant no fresh towels - which I was a bit surprised by. All in all, it was not a bad place to stay, but I probably wouldn't choose the same hotel if I went back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed 9 nights Staff was great and the Hotel is very clean, it is small but nice, forget TV poor. Two great places to eat, one across the street and the other 1 block left out of the Hotel. Traffic can be a little loud. The price is hard to beat for the low season!! Barry Hyde Lawrence, Kansas

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

The location is great - really close to Central Market, etc. The staff was super friendly. The room was the cleanest I had seen in Costa Rica. No working TV channels and a bit of noise from traffic, but otherwise nice overnight stay. The shower took a good 10 minutes to warm up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

On the outside Hotel Colonial looks nice enough, charming, unique, and in a great location if you want to see the Central Market, Artisan Market, or Gold Museum. That's where the good ends.
1) TV has no picture, just snow with audio (and no English channels, not that it would have mattered)
2) COLD shower. I mean, not even lukewarm. I was shivering throughout the whole shower. This was after waiting 9 hours for them to "fix" the hot water - the water was no warmer (if you can call it that) after they supposedly fixed it. It was lovely taking a cold shower at 3am (7:30am flight).
3) Very noisy ceiling fan, no A/C. The fan made horrible loud snapping and clicking noises all night. This meant sleeping with pillows over our heads in order to fall & stay asleep.
4) Dirty room, gross toilet.
5) Awful customer service. Reception staff was very rude and incompetent in dealing with the lack of hot water. You are completely on your own if anything goes wrong in your room!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Detrás Iglesia La Soledad, San Jose 4673-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Jose
Hotel Colonial Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.