We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again, but did the job while we were there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colonial to your Saves list
Hotel Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Detrás Iglesia La Soledad, San Jose 4673-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again, but did the job while we were there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for the first two nights of our vacation to Costa Rica. With four people, the room was about a hundred US dollars, which seemed a little steep. On the plus side, the room was decently clean, had working hot water and cable TV, and was in a great location, within walking distance of many of San Jose's attractions. They also served a very nice breakfast and picked us up from the airport at no extra charge. However, the location, while convenient, was quite noisy. We were misled to believe that there was air conditioning in our room; it was a rather unpleasant surprise when we found that not only did it lack air conditioning, but the windows didn't open, either. There was no maid service - which meant no fresh towels - which I was a bit surprised by. All in all, it was not a bad place to stay, but I probably wouldn't choose the same hotel if I went back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
13
34
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed 9 nights Staff was great and the Hotel is very clean, it is small but nice, forget TV poor. Two great places to eat, one across the street and the other 1 block left out of the Hotel. Traffic can be a little loud. The price is hard to beat for the low season!! Barry Hyde Lawrence, Kansas

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

The location is great - really close to Central Market, etc. The staff was super friendly. The room was the cleanest I had seen in Costa Rica. No working TV channels and a bit of noise from traffic, but otherwise nice overnight stay. The shower took a good 10 minutes to warm up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

On the outside Hotel Colonial looks nice enough, charming, unique, and in a great location if you want to see the Central Market, Artisan Market, or Gold Museum. That's where the good ends.
1) TV has no picture, just snow with audio (and no English channels, not that it would have mattered)
2) COLD shower. I mean, not even lukewarm. I was shivering throughout the whole shower. This was after waiting 9 hours for them to "fix" the hot water - the water was no warmer (if you can call it that) after they supposedly fixed it. It was lovely taking a cold shower at 3am (7:30am flight).
3) Very noisy ceiling fan, no A/C. The fan made horrible loud snapping and clicking noises all night. This meant sleeping with pillows over our heads in order to fall & stay asleep.
4) Dirty room, gross toilet.
5) Awful customer service. Reception staff was very rude and incompetent in dealing with the lack of hot water. You are completely on your own if anything goes wrong in your room!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountains
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

No place to park! No remote for the fuzzy TV. Internet cost to use! Houses next door had RAZOR wire on the ROOF!!!! It claims to be safest place in San Hose but why would you need RAZOR wire if it's safe??? Rooms were small and dirty from construction being done to hotel....literally there were hand prints on the entrance door where dust lied and someone touched!! Talk about an allergy nightmare!! And then when we decided to find another hotel girl at front desk was puzzled asking Why?? THEN we found this AWESOME other place we kept asking ourselves why in the world would anyone stay at Hotel colonial when this place was just as close to airport????

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I travel in solo in Januray. The hotel is well situated and you can easily walk to go downtown. The personal is very helpful, they help me ta lot with the travel agency... The hotel is basic with few chamber and a small pool.There is no restaurant at the hotel but just across the street you will found a good Argentin restaurant. Don't espect to stay on the chamber and watch the TV the night, the TV signal is awfull.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Colonial in San Jose Costa Rica for 2 nights. The hotel is located in the heart of San Jose across the street from an Argentinian restaurant, which has great food! The hotel was very clean, nice folded towels and had AC. The bathroom was clean and they provided us with towels, hand soap and shampoo. The only thing that was a bit frustrating was the hot water was quite cold. We are spoiled and used to taking steaming hot showers in Toronto, so it took some time to get used too. This hotel has an outdoor pool on the main floor which is not heated, but very clean. The lobby has internet, which you can use for a charge. The breakfrast they provided in the morning was great. It included: yummy rice and beans, scrambled eggs, toast, sausages, delicious Costa Rica Coffee and tea. The hotel has a gate which the concierge must open to allow guests to exit and enter. The area of the hotel was safe and the people were very friendly. The hotel does not have an elevator though. You need to lug your things up and down by using the stairs. We came to Costa Rica to experience the adventures not to stay cooped up in the hotel. I was expecting it to be worse then what we got! If your looking for a nice cheap hotel that has all the basics this is a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Detrás Iglesia La Soledad, San Jose 4673-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Jose
Hotel Colonial Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.