We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aerial views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo

Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo
19 km north of San Jose, San Jose 2004, Costa Rica
506 283 5896
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$103*
and up
Whitewater Rafting on the Pacuare River in Costa...
Ranked #26 of 138 Attractions in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Aerial views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Aerial Tramway is a wonderful way of appreciating the forest canopy. The slow, gentle journey allows the highly informative guides to listen out for any birds and animals and to talk about the rainforest ecosystem. Sloth, snakes and Tapir were our highlights. Make sure you have waterproofs handy!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    56
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Plenty of wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I saw plenty of wildlife in the short of time I was there, I used the areal tram and a short walk in the forest.
I saw a very cute Western hognosed pitviper :), owls, toucans.... very nice orchids as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Braulio Carillo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Combine a hike in the Cloud Forest of Braulio Carillo with a stop for a chocolate tasting and lunch at nearby Sibu Chocolates.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“fabulous parque!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

this was my second visit to braulio carrillo, accompanied by an local guide who knows this national parque well. the road trip from heredia is always exciting on the narrow and winding mountain roads. once in the park, the paths are nice yet not too manicured. often i feel like i'm trekking through virgin territory. a good chance to see active mixed flocks of both pacific and caribbean birds. the ranger station is a nice place to enjoy lunch and look at the pictures of birds and other animals sighted within the area. crossing the road to visit the other half of the parque can be an adventure in and of itself, but this side must not be missed. plan to spend the day. always a great place to begin my journeys in one of my most favorite countries.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Drive thru on tour coach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

In the dry season a drive through on a tour coach is not particularly interesting. There were no waterfalls, because it had not been raining. The road is good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo also viewed

 
 

Been to Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.