We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things to do Braulio Carrillo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo

Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo
19 km north of San Jose, San Jose 2004, Costa Rica
506 283 5896
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$106*
and up
San Jose Tropical Rainforest Adventure including...
Ranked #4 of 33 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Things to do Braulio Carrillo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I went to Rainforest Adventures right beside the park. The drive through the National Park to the adventure park was amazing. Only an hour from San Jose. The aerial tram is the only way to really experience the canopy of Braulio Carrillo. Not to be missed. Total trip highlight.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    51
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Rainforest Hiking at Quebrada-Gonzalez in Braulio Carrillo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent a day on the trails starting from the Quebrada-Gonzalez Ranger Station. Our guide was an excellent birding guide that we had arranged though the Selva Verde Lodge where we stayed for a week. It is a 45 minute drive from Selva Verde. Along the route we had great views of the active Turrialba Volcano. The trails were in good repair and with our hiking sticks, We enjoyed the day, refreshingly cooler in the forest on the very hot day at the end of March. The Park is easily accessed on a paved road. It is a very dense, hilly forest full of wildlife. A highlight was watching an Ornate Hawk-Eagle for awhile. You can have a break for lunch in nearby Guapiles or bring a picnic to have at the ranger station on the shaded tables there. This was a great rainforest day!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emory, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is the largest preserved area in Costa Rica. I haven't done much of the trails, but this obviously harbors many species that have never been identified.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

It's quiet a big park and the landscape is impressive; but it's less accesible than other parks because there are only a few km of paths. It's worthwhile for the keen birders!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great place for a drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I drove through Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo on my way to Tortugero National Park. Braulio Carrillo is a cloud forest. You will definitely be at a high elavation but the views are great.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.